Put the lime in the coconut…

coconutjuice400I drink about a gallon of water a day.  Because I’m a pretty small person, most people look at me like I’m crazy when I say that.  But, I’m an active person and Colorado is a dry climate.  I feel and look much better when I’m well hydrated.  I get less headaches, things (ahem) move easier, my workouts are more effective, I’m better at portion control (did you know that a significant amount of hunger can actually be chalked-up to thirst?), and so on. There are times when plain old water just can’t quench my thirst or properly hydrate me (think hard work out or a hangover due to too much wine).  That’s where coconut water comes into play.  NOT coconut milk – let’s be clear. According to this article, or this site,  coconut water has a whole host of amazing benefits, such as:

  • Re-hydration
  • Raising the metabolism
  • Controlling diabetes
  • Boosting the immune system
  • Cleansing the digestive tract
  • Detoxifying the body
  • Hang-over cure

Heck, the stuff can even be used in place of blood during transfusions in emergency situations because it’s that akin to our own plasma.  The bottom line is that there is no other substance that is as hydrating as coconut water.  Not Gatorade (watch for further posts regarding a slander lawsuit.  Aw, who am I kidding?  I’m small potatoes), not Pedialyte, nothing!

Now, I’ll be honest, this stuff can taste kind of odd.  It’s an acquired taste. Kind of like beer when you’re just starting out.  When I first started drinking it I would cut it with some Gatorade or juice.  But I’ve come to like the flavor.  There are many different brands but my personal favorite is Amy and Brian’s with lime.  I know that here in the Boulder, CO area you can buy this stuff at pretty much any store.  It’s also widely available online.

I’m so convinced this stuff is amazing that I find myself stopping people in the store who are reaching for the Gatorade and tell them about coconut water and how much better it is.  Yes, I am that woman. Sorry.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Ma

     /  October 24, 2009

    Oh dear Lord! Tell me you are just pulling my leg…

    Reply
  2. Sally Gilbert-Lewien

     /  October 24, 2009

    After Annie’s advice I used this product to get back on my feet after food poisoning works great although I had to put a splash of juice in there to get it down easily. Thanks Annie

    Reply
  3. Mom – yes, I’m serious! It’s that good.

    Sally – thanks for the back-up on this :)

    Reply
    • Ma

       /  October 24, 2009

      No, dear, I mean that you accost strangers in the store. If you get arrested for harrassment, don’t expect me to come bail you out – I’ll be LMAO.

      Reply
  4. I’ll make sure it’s an amusing mug shot.

    Reply
  5. Kenna

     /  October 26, 2009

    I like coconut water, but you’re right about it being an acquired taste. I haven’t tried the one with pulp added. Ugh… not sure I want to.

    Reply
  6. Kenna, I haven’t tried the pulp version either. I’m not sure if there’s any added value to the pulp or not. I’m generally a no-pulp person, so I’m staying clear. If you do try it, let us know what you think!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

