Before it gets too cold

Perhaps the temperature won’t matter since it’s a trend to wear sandals with tights.  No, not pantyhose and sandals a la grandma, or socks and sandals a la the REI crowd and their Teva’s matched with hiking socks.  I’m talking cute, printed tights with the coolest shoes ever!

Back in June I started thinking about what I would wear to my little brother’s wedding in early September (such a chick – planning months ahead).  I knew it would be an outdoor wedding and so I wanted shoes that wouldn’t sink into the grass.  One evening I was frequenting one of my favorite blogs when I saw the most fabulous sight!  I called my mom and said, “Hey!  I know exactly what I want for my birthday.  But we need to order them now because there’s a waitlist and I want to wear them to Logan’s wedding.”  “When is the last time you got a birthday present from me on the actual day and didn’t know what it was in advance?” she replied.  My birthday is early October.  This call took place in June.  I’m worse than a five year old.  When I showed her the wonderousness of these shoes, she couldn’t help but understand my enthusiasm and was happy to oblige.  Dear old mom!

I will warn you that they’re not joking when they say they have a waitlist.  I ordered these shoes in mid-June and they arrive the first week of September.  But what can you expect from a well handmade, increasingly popular, out of this world shoe?  They were well worth the wait and the price.  They are also incredibly comfortable, which is a boon. I’m getting to an age where comfort supersedes most everything else. Not to mention that the customer service was amazing!  And oh – the presentation of the product when it arrived!  The pride of workmanship was so apparent.

I’ve worn this shoes countless times in the past several months.  They really are like infinite shoes – the possibilities end only with my imagination. I’ve learned some interesting ways to wear these, but occasionally I’ll look at the site gallery for inspiration and end up scratching my head.  I really wish they’d add some how-to videos on the site.

If you’re looking to circumvent the wait, they also have an Etsy shop with several options ready for purchase.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Ma

     /  October 27, 2009

    You do pick out great presents for yourself – I’ll give you that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

