Favorite site of the week: Gluten-free Goddess

I’m one of the growing people in our country who has food intolerances.  My body is unhappy when I eat wheat, cow milk dairy, soy, glutenfreegoddessoats, and spelt.  The wheat and dairy, while initially difficult to work around, aren’t really missed at this point.  I never really ate spelt (it’s a grain, for those of you who are like, “what the hell is spelt!?”), so no loss there.  I do miss oatmeal on occasion but only for the convenience factor.  But the soy is a real pain.   I don’t like soy milk, tofu, etc. and so that’s no biggie, but soy is in EVERYTHING!  Read a label, the most innocuous one you can find.  Soy.  Tea.  Soy.  Spices.  Soy.  Candy.  Soy. Apparently it’s an easy to grow, low-cost crop that makes a good filler.  More and more we’re finding out that soy isn’t as good for you as once purported.

Anyway, I’ll rant on soy some other time.  The purpose of this post is to let you know of a great online recipe resource for gluten-free diets.  When I was first diagnosed with a wheat intolerance, I thought there would be no more pizza, cornbread, macaroni and cheese, brownies, and on and on (incidentally all of those links just there lead to some of my favorite wheat-free recipes).  And then I ran across the Gluten-free Goddess. I started make recipe after recipe of hers and have never been disappointed.  The cornbread recipe is refered to as “cornbread crack” in our house and is a guaranteed crowd-pleaser.  The macaroni and cheese recipe is vegan and calls for all sorts of bizarre ingredients.  It’s for that reason that we call it hippy mac, but honestly, it tastes better than regular mac and cheese – no joke!  And when the baking buzz hit me last holiday season, the Gluten-free Goddess helped me convert all of my holiday cookies to something I could eat.

So if you’re avoiding gluten/wheat as well, or are cooking for others who are, this site is a great resource for you. Actually, this site just has some good food on it regardless of dietary restrictions.  Mmm cornbread crack…

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Theresa

     /  October 30, 2009

    Thanks . . . I’ll take a look at that website . . .I’m running out of food ideas!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

