Etsy post of the Week: Bags

As you might have noticed, I changed the name of this Etsy post  to “post of the week” instead of “shop of the week”. Again, there are just too many great vendors on Etsy to limit myself!

I’d like to be one of those hip women who owns a million great purses and whose purse matches her outfit perfectly.  Actually, scratch that. I’m glad I’m not one of those women.  That just sounds too high maintenance. Those are the same women who paint their nails every day to match their clothes. Anyone who has time for that should volunteer somewhere. And anyone who can afford that many purses should donate to a worthy cause. Don’t run away, I’m off my soap-box. I swear.

I’ve been carrying the same purse for, gee lemme think, 6 years (it’s the brown and black one). Every few years I buy another one as they tend to get kind of grotty looking after day-in and day-out use. It’s pretty much the perfect bag because it’s big enough (as in you could stash a toddler in there) to fit all my stuff (i.e. large hardback books when necessary) and it matches most everything since it’s brown and black.

Lately, however, I’ve been thinking I might need a new bag. And it might be time to grow up a bit a spend a decent amount on a decent bag that will stand the test of time. Below are some bags with potential to replace my trusty bag. Yes, they’re all pretty large. I like big bags just like I like big rings. Oh, and yes, most of these are made of leather. I know I’m going to hell, no need to point it out.

Let me know what you think!

1.   Distressed natural edge cognac bag – $250
2.   Large tote bag in black – $120
3.   Ton Sai bag in warm caramel – $170
4.   Bellisima shoulder bag in tan – $169
5.   South Isle hobo in red – $156
6.   Screen-printed leather bag – $140
7.   Ton Sai bag in soft gray – $159
8.   Brown leather messenger bag – $140
9.   Ton Sai bag in red – $159
10. Distressed natural edge bag in yellow – $250
11. Blue leather pocket bag – $145
12. Messenger bag in gray – $175

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Kenna

     /  January 12, 2010

    I love that big orangey-red hobo bag (#5 on your list). Lately I’ve been craving a purse in a BOLD color.

    Reply
    • I agree! I’m leaning towards a yellow bag, but was having a hard time finding one on Etsy. Let me know if you see one. I seem to like hobo bags the best (as if you couldn’t tell from this post!).

      Reply
  2. Ma

     /  January 13, 2010

    I got a yellow leather bag. Bad move. It shows every bit of dirt, every smudge, everything. And cleaning leather doesn’t happen. Even Dad with his trusty shoe shine bag of goodies can’t make it look good.

    I have a red purse and it makes me feel very sassy!

    Reply
  3. Lisa Staley

     /  January 14, 2010

    Hi Annie, I really like almost ALL of these! I used to have a large copper bag, before I donated it to my teenager. That’s a fun and versatile color to consider…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

