Punjammies!

I work in Boulder, CO. For those of you who don’t know what that means, well, it means a lot. But one thing it means in particular is that I have a pretty relaxed dress code at work. Not to say that I show up looking like a slob (at least not on a regular basis anyway), but I usually wear jeans, sweaters, scarves, and cowboy boots (see, I wasn’t joking) in the winter and cute dresses and skirts in the summer. I just can’t manage to swing the dress/skirt thing in the winter. It has to do with pantyhose, which were conceived of by the devil.

But around six p.m. every night, I hit a breaking point. I want my comfy clothes, damn it! Which is funny, because like I said above, I pretty much stick to comfy all day regardless. However,  six o’clock comfy means no bra. No undies either, in fact. TMI? Sorry. Until my father starts reading this, which will be never, the TMI will remain. Anyway, the minute I get home, I change my clothes. The manfriend sees me in my comfy clothes A LOT. Poor guy. During the warmer months, the comfy clothes are pretty cute, and maybe even sexy – little nighties from Victoria’s Secret. So no complaints there I’m sure. But in the winter, it’s fleece pants and sweatshirt. Ooh, baby!

I can’t feel too bad, though.  His comfy clothes sometimes border on the absurd. At least mine match and don’t combine two different camo color schemes. I’m pretty sure that desert camo and forest camo aren’t supposed to be worn together, but what do I know?

While reading my new favorite blog today, I came across this post on Punjammies by International Princess Project. Considering I already own an inordinate amount of comfy clothes I thought, “What’s one more pair of pajama bottoms?” So I took a look. Not only do these guys provide some really great, unbelievably affordable, PJ’s – it’s all for a good cause. Boo ya!

Punjammies are created by women in India who have been rescued from a life of prostitution. The International Princess Project provides after-care centers for these women and the money you spend on a punjammie product goes to a fair wage, the provision of living expensese, the creation of savings accounts for these women, finanical support, and holistic treatments.

I gotta say, some of these are a heck of a lot better looking than the REI (no offense to my beloved REI) black fleece pants with campfire spark burn holes I’ve been sporting lately.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Ma

     /  March 19, 2010

    So I went to Punjammies and all the pants I want are sold out! Grrrrrr.

    Reply
    • Yeah, same thing happened for me. I chose to look at it like, “Good for them and all the money they’re making for a good cause!” My plan is to just keep checking back as I think they get new stuff on a regular basis.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

