Bucket list

I get on these kicks with books where I just read, and read, and read about one particular thing for a while, exhaust myself on it, and then move on. I usually return to these particular things every once and a while for nostalgia’s sake. For example, I spent about six months reading a ton of books on American’s moving to and living in Tuscany. Naturally, now I want to move to Tuscany, buy and old villa to restore, and eat only olive oil, red wine, and cheese.

Recently I’ve sort of been immersing myself in books about what it takes to make your wishes reality. I hate to call them self-help books, but I suppose that’s what they are (ew, I can’t believe I just admitted that. Ew.). In a lot of cases, the message is similar – you will manifest what you focus on and call to yourself. Ask and the universe will provide, basically. One of these resources (The Little Money Bible by Stuart Wilde) believes that everything you want and all that you desire to be already exists in another dimension, you just have to call it into being in this dimension. It’s all based off of quantum physics and what we can perceive of versus what is really out there.  Quantum physics really resonates with me.

So, that’s why I say things like “when” instead of “if”. Or why I’m choosing to focus very clearly on the things, experiences, relationships, etc. that I want to manifest. So below is that start of a bucket list as a way to manifest these opportunities, experiences, etc. I plan on adding to this list as things present themselves, so it will be an ongoing project that I’ll update here and there.

  • Take singing lessons
  • Learn to ride a horse
  • Take up the violin again, but this time – learn to fiddle
  • Visit the Perito Moreno Glacier when it collapses
  • Visit Wayfares Chapel
  • Travel to:
    • Italy (duh)
    • Amsterdam
    • Greece
    • Scotland
    • Spain
    • San Juan Islands
  • Take up water skiing again
  • Sky dive with my little brother
  • Become a proficient gardener
  • Volunteer at a humane society
  • Work at a gardening center (I love those places)
  • Visit Frank Lloyd Wright’s Fallingwater
  • Learn to take a really good photograph
  • See the aurora borealis
  • See Archive in concert. My buddy is one of the lead singers and they play predominantly in Europe.

What are some of the things on your bucket list? I’ll warn you ahead of time that if you share, I might pilfer, but only because I’m certain you’ll share inspiring things I might never think of without your help!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Linda Besen

     /  April 1, 2010

    I’ve done a few things on your bucket list — ride a horse, travel to Italy, take singing lessons (doesn’t mean I can sing!). And you’ve done a few things on my bucket list — learn to give an excellent massage, have a blog. Hope all your wishes come true!

    Reply
    • Hey Linda! Didn’t know you were checking in on this! Thanks for reading. Yes, I remember your beautiful pictures of Italy – so excited to go myself!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    My mother is an encyclopedia of useless information (sorry, ma, but it's true) - no one can beat her at Trivial Pursuit. As I age, I become more like dear old mom everyday. I routinely tell people about resources, recipes, tips, tricks, or websites I've heard about, tried, live by, etc. until one of my clients urged me to start a blog. So here it is! My perpetual ramblings. I hope you find them useful and amusing. If you don't, you can either keep it to yourself or leave me a well constructed critique.

    I'm a former massage therapist, a freelance journalist, and a web information architect and UX designer. I enjoy yoga, the Bar Method, camping, reading, gardening, and spending time with my friends and loved ones. I live in Colorado.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,099 other followers

  • Infrequent tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • I pin!

    Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Archive

  • Tag Cloud

  • Top Posts

