Tree houses for grown ups

When we (my sister, brother and I) were little, my parent’s would play bridge with a group of friends once a month. This little get together would be hosted by each couple in rotation. So, about twice a year it would be up to my parent’s to host. I used to love when it was our turn. It meant my mom would make these appetizers, like ham rolls with cream cheese and olives in the middle (now a days it would be more like pancetta wrapped dates), and we’d get to drink fun stuff like 5 Alive. It used to come in a concentrated can. I wonder if they even still make it.

Anyway, my mom would whip up appetizers and set out bowls of nibbly things like Goldfish Crackers, M&Ms, and peanuts while my dad would layout a bar (including the expensive stuff he held in reserve for special occasions like this – Glenfiddich, Tanqueray, etc.) and he’d bring out the cards table and vacuum the floors.

When everyone arrived, we were allowed to hang out a bit and chat with the ‘dults and answer questions about school, boyfriends (blush, blush) and get hugs from people who had known us since we were itty-bitty. Some of these folks were more like grandparents to us (my dad robbed the craddle and is older than my mom so some of their friends are quite a bit older than they are – but such things don’t matter once you’re past the age of 25, do they?), and we loved seeing them.

Then we were ushered off to the den to watch a movie before bed so they could get down to the serious business of playing bridge. And let me tell you, it looked serious!

We usually got to pick the video we would watch and time and again we would chose The Swiss Family Robinson. If you’re unfamiliar with the movie, shame on you. It’s a classic! Right up there with Pollyanna, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (which said over and over sounds like Shitty Shitty Bang Bang and would get us in trouble), and The Sound of Music. It was about a shipwrecked family. The thing that always stood out the most for me was the fact that they built and lived in this really cool treehouse. I’ve wanted to live in one ever since. So when I saw this article today on msn.com, I was suddenly flooded with memories and a new goal for when I win the lottery. Can’t you just imagine the views?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Ma

     /  May 20, 2010

    The reason people loved coming to our house was our three remarkably outstanding children. And my food. I had no idea those bridge sessions were such a delight to you. Love your guts!

    Reply
  2. Yeah, I really looked forward to them! Especially seeing the Fields and the Nelsons :) Plus, I always took amusement in dad vacuuming considering it was pretty much the only time he did it! Love your guts too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

