No, I’m not a twihard, but…

I say I’m not a twihard (aka an obsessive reader of the Twilight saga), but I have read them. I did enjoy them and I will see all of the movies.

This is not an admission I’m totally happy about. You see, the Twilight books are not great literature. Instead, they’re like crack in the form of fiction – vampire crap, if you will. While reading them, I could hardly put them down. I literally finished the first book, set it down, grabed my purse and yelled out to the manfriend, “I’m off to Walmart to buy the next book.” Yes, Walmart. It just keeps getting worse. I left the house without even giving him a kiss goodbye. This almost NEVER happens. I then bought the book and read the first chapter in the Walmart parking lot. I couldn’t even make it home first. I’m ashamed. Deeply.

So you read that and think, “Not a twihard? Let’s be real.” To that I say watch this and then make an informed decision. Seriously, if you want a glimpse at what it’s like to be obsessed, watch this poor girl. She needs an intervention.

I first decided to read Twilight (the first book, for those of you who don’t know, which is unimaginable given the success of this series) because of all of the hype. I thought, “Man, these books are REALLY popular. Maybe they’re good.” And they are. In a “candy for the brain” type of way. Again, this is not Jane Austen, or Hemmingway. This is vampire lit, for craps sake. This method of “everyone else is reading it, maybe I should too” was also applied to the Harry Potter series, and that worked out well, so you know.

The movies, of course, don’t do the books justice. The gal who plays Bella (Kristin Stewart) drives me crazy, which is only one of several reasons why the movies are subpar. But, I’ll likely see them all. It’s just one of those things. But before I see the new movie, Eclipse, I decided to heed the author’s, Stephanie Meyer, advice and read the novella she wrote that fills in a few of the gaps of one of the characters from Eclipse. The novella is online, for free, but only for a limited time. So go! Hurry! Get your vampire crack fix!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Aimee

     /  June 8, 2010

    teamjacob

    Reply

Leave a Reply

