Bailamos!

I remember the first time my sister ever took me to a salsa club. Um, that’s salsa as in dancing. But if anyone knows of a salsa as in eating club, please let me know. I’d like to join.

I was finishing up my journalism degree at the University of Colorado at Boulder and was writing an article on the multi-generational nature of salsa. Unlike something like crunking (yeah, I don’t really know what it is either), you’ll see little kids and grandparents shaking it equally hard on a salsa dance floor.

Anyway, we walked into this club and my mind was blown! The energy, the beauty, the passion was just overwhelming. Now, my sister is a good dancer and she’s been doing salsa for about 12 years or so. For a girl with a small ass, she sure can shake it! And I was flat-out intimidated. I did dance with a few men, mostly men my sister pointed out as good, patient leads so I wouldn’t feel too overwhelmed. It was a blast! I also had a great time noting that one of the best couples could have won a Morticia/Uncle Fester look-a-like contest. Nevertheless, he somehow managed to twirl her around with the greatest of ease. It was a fine balance between her stooping just enough and him rising on his toes just enough through a turn to make it look effortless. Couple that with the fact that one of the best men on the floor was a super geeky white dude and I was convinced that with enough time and effort, I too could tear it up.

So, I took some salsa lessons with the folks that taught my sister how to salsa and became like a second family to her in the process. And talking about family, these teachers are a father/daughter pair who are doing some really interesting things in the salsa community with regard to using salsa as a developmental tool for the young and the old alike. Where I stalled out with my own lessons was in my personal life. (And here’s where I blame someone else…) If I had a partner who wanted to take lessons with me and wanted to hit the clubs to try out our new moves, I’d be all over this like white on rice. However, the manfriend is about as likely to take dance lessons as fly to the moon. Is this a deal-breaker for me? Hell no! The man does all the cooking and looks hot in camo and Carhartts. I’m keeping him, thank you very much.

The point of this blog is to let you know that is wonderful father/daughter duo, Jenny and Sam Gill, have put out a salsa video series. Now you can learn salsa in your own home! They, of course, still teach actual classes for those of you who are local and might be interested. My super-secret (ha) plan is to get the manfriend drunk and trick him into doing these videos with me. Think it’ll work?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

