Farm to table!

Farm to table sign I first noticed Ollin Farms in Longmont by driving past it as it’s about two minutes from my house. I kept saying to myself, “You really should stop by there and hit up their farm stand!” And yet, I didn’t. Pretty lame, right?

Then a few months ago I was tasked by my editor at the Daily Camera to write an article about farming/gardening as a workout. See, once month I fill in and write one of the Workout of the Week articles for the DC. It’s a great way to try out some really fun workouts and it also feeds that journalist inside. I’d love to link to the article on the Daily Camera’s site, but it’s not on there apparently. Boo!

Anyway, in the course of working out on the farm with owner, Mark Guttridge, and intern, Justin Sandy, I found out that Justin used to play in the NFL. Now he’s pursuing a career in organic farming. Yeah, interesting shift, huh? So, I wrote and article about that also. It is, in fact, one of the articles I’m most proud of.

The setting for our dinner.

In all of this interaction with the folks at Ollin Farms I really came to admire their passion for organic, nutritious food as well as educating people about organic farming. Mark routinely hosts workshops on the farm and they do a great kids summer camp for the little ones. He even employs paid high school interns during the summer.  Mark’s love of his chosen work really shines through in his farm and how he treats his patrons. When talking to him about farming, it’s just so evident that he’s enthralled with what he does and his excitement is contagious.

The farm also hosts farm to table dinners. What this means is that they hire a chef to come out to the farm and use their produce and other locally sourced foods to prepare a four course dinner that they serve on the farm under tents and at community tables. They’ll be hosting 10 dinners this summer, the first one being last night, June 21st, for the summer solstice. The manfriend and I were lucky enough to score some tickets (the dinners always sell out) and went with a group of friends. It was divine! The food, atmosphere, and service were all amazing. I would highly recommend it and will be going back myself real soon!

My group at our community table.

Our lovely view.

Our appetizer course.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

