Home economics for men

I want to start this post/rant by saying this is not a bash on the manfriend. These are things I’ve noticed about men in general. Do these generalizations apply to all men? Surely not. But I’m guessing some of this will hit home!

The other night I watched Man Men while the manfriend cooked dinner. The irony was not lost on us. I also read an article recently that said this economy and layoffs have hit men more than women. It also said that more and more women are attending college compared to their male counterparts. Another story talked about the increase in stay-at-home dads. All this got me postulating. Perhaps there needs to be a home economics class for men. Here’s what I’m thinking:

  • How to soak a dish for men (seriously, why can’t men soak a gnarly pan or dish properly? Is it a genetic thing? If you know a man who can do this properly, please let me know. I’d like to shake his hand. But before I do, he has to prove it.).
    • Course work would include taking a filthy pan and soaking it with HOT, soapy water. This course would stress that the HOT, soapy water needs to be higher than the kradge in the pan. Not, I repeat, NOT an inch (or several) below the kradge.
  • How to properly do laundry.
    • Course work would include pulling socks out, checking pockets for money and cellphones, separating out the whites, not over-crowding the washing machine, and proper put-away techniques like folding and using the illusive hanger.
  • How to load a dishwasher effectively (need I say more?).
  • How to properly make a bed and change sheets.

What do you think, think these classes will be in high demand?

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Ma

     /  August 18, 2010

    They don’t want to get fingers in skanky water.
    You can relate…

    Reply
  2. I’m not saying soak it and then swizzle your hands about! I’m saying soak it, pour the water out and then clean it. You know how it works – a proper soak can damn near clean an item all by itself!

    Reply
  3. Really Now

     /  March 2, 2016

    I’d rather not soak pan with soapy water. Deglaze the foody bits with cheap rhum or any alcohol. Then wipe. Season regularly with ordinary cooking oil.

    But laundry…ah…yes…that is my personal demon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

