Stella, the donkey

Oy vey. This past weekend was a doozy. Puppies are a lot of work! I already knew this, I tried desperately to prepare the manfriend but somehow the 2 a.m. crying seemed shocking to us both. She brays like an ass. I’ve started calling her Donkey. It’s the hound in her.

Sunday night was so bad the manfriend, ear plugs in, turned to me and said, “How long do we give this?” “Give what? Her crying?” I replied. “No, the dog thing. At what point do we throw in the towel and say this isn’t for us?” “I dunno. How long do you think?” I asked him calmly, gritting my teeth silently. “Two weeks.” “Okay, two weeks,” I agreed full well knowing that by the time two weeks was up, he’d be totally in love and she’d have stopped crying at night. He ended up spending the night on the floor next to her crate, one hand inside to comfort her. Man, I love that guy! When I realized he’d done this, it just warmed the cockles of my heart. Anyway, it only took one more night. Last night, Monday night, she was a gem and he’s totally in love. We both are!

I stayed home from work yesterday to be with her and work some more on crate training. Before we got a dog, I told the manfriend there were two non-negotiables for me – crate training and pet insurance. I know the pet insurance sounds like a bit much (Stella will be better covered than most Americans for about $30 a month), but after my last dog (two knee surgeries by two years old and allergies to everything under the sun including humans – no, I’m not kidding), I’m a big believer.

Usually I feel bad when I stay home. Not yesterday. There was no way in hell I was leaving that little baby by herself all day without a precursor to to her weekday life. I left a few times during the day for an hour or two to give her a sense of being at home alone. As a result, she’s a much happier pup in that kennel. Until she got desperate and pooped in there this morning and the manfriend had to clean it up when he went home to check on her. Oy vey.

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Piper

     /  August 24, 2010

    Do you have any advise on pet insurance . . . I’m sure you did the research?

    Reply
    • For the last dog my ex and I used Pet Care and they were great. Lifeline Puppy Rescue sends all their puppies home with a 30-day plan from ShelterCare, so Stella is covered for the time being. There are several more options out there now, so I’m doing some more research as we speak. petinsurancereview.com is supposed to be a great site for comparing companies and plans. I’ll let you know what we decide on.

      Reply
      • Piper

         /  August 29, 2010

        Please do, my sister just spent a TON on her dog who was hit by a car, and before that my Dad and also my aunt have spent WAY TOO MUCH on care for their pets when they got hurt. So, I have been wanting to look into it and haven’t had the chance. Thanks in advance Annie!

  2. You bet, Piper! I’ve done some more research in the past couple of days and I think we’ll be going with Pets Best. They’re the company that started the whole concept of pet insurance about 25 years ago. I’ll do a blog post on it here soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

