Summer, it happened so fast

Now, I know we probably have a good month or so of summer left and then a lovely fall (my favorite time of the year) to look forward to. But I just can’t help but feel that summer is over. I suppose it has to do with the fact that school is back in session.

Photo of a river

I really prefer to camp by water. The sound of it rushing lulls me to sleep.

I have a love hate relationship with summer. I love wearing dresses and skirts (things I avoid generally in the winter because of the evils of pantyhose/tights), I love summer fruit (I could bathe in a tub of nectarines and cherries), I love summer evenings spent on our patio, I love that the sun doesn’t set until late in the day, I love the way our yard and garden looks. What I hate is extreme heat. If it could be 75-80 everyday with a slight breeze and a 30 minute shower in the afternoon, I would be a happy, happy girl. Perhaps I’m romanticizing things, but I swear that’s how summers in Colorado used to be when I was an actual girl. I keep trying to tell myself to have some perspective because I know I’ll be longing for hot summer days come about January, but 90+ degree days wear me out.

Picture of wildflowers

Indian Paintbrush near a camp site.

But the biggest thing I’ll miss about summer is camping. I LOVE to camp. I’ve talked about my love of camping before (as well as the downside to camping, which we only encounter very rarely). We try to go as often as we can. Unfortunately we haven’t been as many times as we’ve wanted to go. And now with a little pooch at home (who’s newest nicknames include Queen Craptastic, due to the amount of poo she can excrete in any given day, and Mademoiselle Scrum-diddly-umptious because she’s the cutest puppy that’s ever puppied) our camp trips for the year are likely over. Make no mistake, we’ll make a killer camper out of her, it just might have to wait until next year. I’m excited for it already! Her extra warmth in the tent will make it cozier. Let’s just hope she doesn’t become a snorer!

Picture of Sawtooth ridge.

Our view of Sawtooth ridge while hiking on a camp trip.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Ma

     /  August 27, 2010

    This may be your best post. Ever!

    Reply
  2. Ma

     /  August 27, 2010

    Just warm and fuzzy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

