A meeting of the girls

Stella had a very big day yesterday. She got to meet one of my favorite creatures ever, Sofie. Sofie is my parents 11-year old Golden Retriever whom I also call Soph-a-licious and Soph-a-ba-dof. I also tell her she’s the sweetest creature that’s ever creatured because I guarantee you she is.

Sofie was generally excited. She usually just about comes out of her skin when I show up. Add a puppy to the mix and she was pretty ecstatic. Stella was nonplussed. We’ve done some more research and are convinced she’s a Plott Hound mix. The coloring is surely Rottweiler, but her entire body, face, disposition, etc. seems to be Plott Hound. The manfriend thinks we should drop $110 on a DNA test. Meh. Anyway, Plott Hounds are generally really into humans, but not so much other dogs. They’re not dog-aggressive, just not all that interested overall. Stella and Sofie did, however, reach a common ground over one of Sofie’s toys and got in some tug-o-war and some good butt sniffing.

Dogs playing tug of war

Then Stella managed to charm her way into my father’s lap and take a nap. You gotta love a dog that will snuggle up with a stranger and feel safe enough to pass out. Although, my dad always has had a way with little creatures, human and otherwise.

Man and dog snuggled on a couch

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Liz

     /  August 29, 2010

    romeo misses Sophie!!!!!

    Reply
  2. Theresa

     /  August 29, 2010

    So cute! I can’t believe Sofie is already 11 . . . how the years have gone by. I’m embarrassed to say that I have NO idea what “nonplussed” means—-you fancy vocab lady!
    I’ve never heard of a Plott Hound . . .going to have to look at that.

    Reply
  3. I know! She’s so sweet, but she’s definitely getting to be an old gal. She was quite excited and energetic around Stella. I have a friend from college who has a couple of them, which is the only reason I knew about Plott Hounds. So we started poking around the web and I’d bet a limb that’s what Stella is. They’re supposed to be very loyal, sweet dogs. We lucked out!

    Reply
  4. Mallory

     /  August 31, 2010

    Ayuba says ” she’ll looove me, I jus know it”

    Reply
  5. Lol that’s so freaking cute! I’m sure she will. I can’t wait for them to meet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    My mother is an encyclopedia of useless information (sorry, ma, but it's true) - no one can beat her at Trivial Pursuit. As I age, I become more like dear old mom everyday. I routinely tell people about resources, recipes, tips, tricks, or websites I've heard about, tried, live by, etc. until one of my clients urged me to start a blog. So here it is! My perpetual ramblings. I hope you find them useful and amusing. If you don't, you can either keep it to yourself or leave me a well constructed critique.

    I'm a former massage therapist, a freelance journalist, and a web information architect and UX designer. I enjoy yoga, the Bar Method, camping, reading, gardening, and spending time with my friends and loved ones. I live in Colorado.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,099 other followers

  • Infrequent tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • I pin!

    Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Archive

  • Tag Cloud

  • Top Posts

