Capturing Summer in a Bowl

In my continued efforts to hold onto summer via food, I decided to use some of our lovely tomatoes to make gazpacho.

I LOVE gazpacho, but I’m a very discerning gazpacho eater. I’ve never found a recipe better than the one handed down from my grandmother to my mom. My grandmother was ahead of her time. She was making gazpacho and guacamole in the 50’s – long before it was cool. She was also hosting fondue parties and stringing small white fairy lights on her Christmas tree before any of that was cool either.

Bowl of gazpacho soup.

We (ha, the manfriend I should say) planted several varieties of tomatoes. He planted pace tomatoes (they’re similar to Romas) for sauce because they have less seeds and juice, which makes them extra pulpy and good for saucing or canning. He also planted several varieties of grape tomatoes (the little orange ones are so sweet they’re like candy), heirlooms and beefsteaks. We’ve been munching the grape tomatoes straight up but we needed something to do with all those beefsteaks and heirlooms. This recipe fit the bill!

Gazpacho

Combine:

  • 48 oz. tomato juice
  • 2 cups water
  • 4 beef bouillon cubes (I dissolved these in the two cups of water listed above, which I boil in order to help the cubes dissolve. Then I cool the broth before adding it to the rest of the mix.)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tsp. Tabasco
  • 2 garlic pods, crushed

Add:

  • 4 large tomatoes, cubed
  • 8 green onions, diced
  • 1 green pepper, diced
  • 1 cucumber, diced
  • 1 cup black olives, sliced
  • 2 cups celery, diced

This is always, like most soups, better the second day, which is good considering you serve it cold and the time in the fridge is needed. Before I serve this I add some avocado. Yum!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Gammio would be flattered!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

