My vanity

My mother always said “it ain’t bragging if you can back it up.” So I’ll keep that in mind when I say I have good skin.

Partly I’m just lucky. I inherited my dad’s skin. He’s got great skin. He could easily pass for a man 10 years younger. On top of that, I take really good care of my skin.

But there’s a yin and yang to everything. While I have good skin, I also have Vitiligo. For those of you who won’t follow the link, this is what Michael Jackson said he had as a way to explain his skin lightening habits. Maybe he did, maybe he didn’t. I will say that I’m sure glad I have fair skin because it makes my spottiness a lot less noticeable. But I am spotty, like a dog.

When I was first diagnosed with Vitiligo 24 years ago I was told it was caused by over exposure to the sun. As the years went on and I lost pigment in places where the sun don’t shine, I started to question that. Now they know it’s more complex than that and it’s a problem with the cells that produce melanin. The benefit of the initial diagnosis is that it made me vigilant about using sunscreen long before sunscreen vigilance was cool.

So, I’m consistent with sunscreen and have good skin genetically. But I don’t stop there. I also use very good products that just up the ante. My sister started touting Mychelle and their products years ago. I finally caved about three years ago and I am so glad I did. Here’s all the stuff I use and recommend wholeheartedly:

Daily

  • Fruit Enzyme Cleanser
  • Clear Skin Serum (great for minimizing pores)
  • Perfect C Serum
  • Fruit Enzyme Mist
  • Fabulous Eye Cream
  • Deep Repair Cream (day)
  • Revitalizing Night Cream (night, duh)
  • Sun Shield SPF 28

On occasion

  • Fruit Enzyme Scrub
  • Fruit Fiesta Peel
  • Hydrating Cactus Mask

Seems like a lot of stuff, I know. But the skin is the largest organ of the body and I feel it’s important to take really good care of it. You’re probably humming “You’re So Vain” right now. Hey, we all have our vanities and my skin is certainly mine.

Around my neck of the woods, these products can be found at Whole Foods, Vitamin Cottage, and Kings Soopers ( In Boulder at least). They also sell them online at the Mychelle homepage but I find that Vitacost has better prices. Yes, the initial output was shocking. But since then, replacing one or two items a month hasn’t been so bad. They do have trial sizes also. I, personally, think it’s a worthwhile investment. It could be worse, I could be Victoria Beckam trying to convince you pigeon poop night cream is worth $200 a jar. I’m not kidding.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Aimee

     /  September 22, 2010

    I use Mychelle, too – the BEST stuff.

    Reply
  2. Erin F

     /  September 22, 2010

    You do have good skin! AND, did you know mychelle is local? They are right on 95th between Pine and Baseline. (I don’t know if they do sales to the public at that location.)

    Reply
    • Thank you! Yes, I did know that and should have mentioned it! Thanks for pointing that out. I don’t think they sell out of the location, but I’m not 100% sure of that.

      Reply
  3. You’re just purty. Period.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

