Winter Reading List

We woke up on Sunday morning to quite a chill in the air. It was a whopping 60 degrees in our house. Very different from the low 70’s we’ve be accustomed to the past several months. The poor pooch was so cold we wrapped her up in a blanket to warm her up.

Puppy wrapped in a blanket.

It was, of course, 90 degrees by the end of the day. But that 90 degree heat feels different this time of year than 90 degrees in July or August. There’s a scent in the air, a change in the angle of the sun, a rustle in the leaves that says fall is upon us.

Later that morning I found myself strolling the aisles of a bookstore. Since I was a little kid, browsing aimlessly in a bookstore has been a favorite pastime. I was taking notes and writing down book titles that appealed to me – making a winter reading list. In my opinion, there is just no better way to spend a cold, snowy weekend than reading. Well, there’s one other thing that comes to mind, but it would just be inappropriate to elaborate!

So, I’m looking for books to add to my list. Help me out, peeps – what are some of your favorite books?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Piper

     /  September 23, 2010

    I’m really enjoying “The Host” by Stephanie Myers, and since I know you did the Twilight thing, you may like it too :)

    Reply
  2. Ooh, thanks, Piper! I will definitely add it. She’s a very engaging writer.

    Reply
  3. “The Tao of Willie” by Willie Nelson – wonderful! I’ll get it to you.

    Reply
  4. Adrienne

     /  September 23, 2010

    I really enjoyed several books by Isabel Allende a couple of years ago. The ones that come to mind first are Daughter of Fortune followed by Zorro. My favorite thing about her beyond her characters is that I did enjoy her books so much and she has written a fair number of them. So I was able to keep running down the list. Below is a link to her site.

    http://www.isabelallende.com/books_frame.htm

    Right now I am reading a book by Carlos Ruiz Zafon called the Angels Game, which I am definitely sucked into at this point. Previously I read a book by him titled The Shadow of Wind and there is some cross over between these books with some shared characters and places…though one does not depend on the other.

    Mention books and you are on my favorite topic. So one last one. My book club (well one of them) is reading Elegance of a Hedgehog, which I hear is very good though I have not started it yet.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Adrienne! I’ve read Daughter of Fortune and have another Allende book on my shelves I need to crack. I’ll definitely look into your other suggestions. And I’m with you, I love to read!

      Reply
  5. I’ve been a Willie fan for oh… 40 years?

    Reply
  6. K Warner

     /  September 23, 2010

    Have you read the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich? They aren’t exactly deep novels, but a super great series. I read the first 12 books in less than a month. SO addicting. If you are interested, I own them.

    Reply
  7. I’ve never heard of that series. Thanks, Kim! I might borrow them…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

