Another year rushes past

Image that reads "The bad news is time flies. The good news is your're the pilot."Well, my birthday is here and gone. Another year has flown by. I remember adults telling me how fast time flies when I was a whipper snapper. I just couldn’t comprehend that. Now, now I get it.

It’s not that I fear aging, per se. I’m not a huge fan, however. But I just can’t, for the life of me, figure out where 34 years have gone. And what really scares the hell out of me is how fast the next 34 years will go. Take my dad, for example. He turns 75 this year. He just seems totally shocked to be 75. Mind you he looks about 65, but still. I know he’s thinking, “Wow, where did it all go?”

I’ve always had a hard time with aging. I can think of a only a handful of birthdays (16, 18, 21, 30) where I didn’t lament the passage of time and get a tad emotional. I think it has to do with the fact that I’m a supremely, embarrassingly, sentimental person. I’m definitely one of those people who cry at McDonald’s commercials despite the fact that I find McDonald’s generally appalling.

I try very hard to live my life without any regrets, but I haven’t always been successful with that. I regret not spending more time with my little brother when he was a kid and I was a busy, self-absorbed teenager. I regret all the years that my sister and I didn’t get along (although it’s probably the reason why we value our friendship now so much). There are others, but some are just too private. Sorry. And so I wonder what I’ll regret 34 years from now. I hope not a helluva a lot.

I also know we’re supposed to live in the moment. That can be VERY hard to do in this day and age. Hell, because of my meal planning habit, I already know what’s for dinner this coming Saturday night for Pete’s sake. It’s just who I am, a planner.

But here is my vow for this, my 35th, year on this planet. I will have no regrets and I will try to live in the moment as much as I possibly can. It’s like a resolution, but just not for the new calendar year.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Ma

     /  October 7, 2010

    You are the most dazzling 34-year-old I’ve ever seen! You are truly a glow worm. :]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

