#reverb10: getting caught up

My friend Melanie over at melsidwell.com turned me on to this project via her own site. It’s an online initiative that prompts people to reflect on the past year and look towards the new one. So, I thought I’d play along! But, now I need to get caught up a bit:

December 1 One Word.
Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?
(Author: Gwen Bell)

My one word for 2010 is overcome. There have been several experiences this year that I feel like I’ve had to overcome (the death of an itty-bitty family member and my car accident) and learn from. While both experiences were traumatic, scary, sad, overwhelming, frustrating, I’ve learned so much from each of them. Almost exactly 6 months apart, these two events of 2010 seem to have marked the beginning and the end of the year for me.

My one word for 2011 will be reconnect. Reconnect with myself, reconnect with the manfriend (I feel like I’ve been a bit distant lately with all the extracurricular activities – aka therapies for the accident – I’ve been doing), reconnect with nature (we didn’t do nearly enough camping last year, and there’s a ton more gardening to do in 2011), reconnect with my health (my workouts and healthy eating habits have gone to hell in a hand basket since the accident) and so on. I’m really looking forward to it!

December 2 What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it? (Author: Leo Babauta)

Work! Har-de-har-har. Actually, it’s the work I do outside of work (I’ve had multiple jobs for some time). There just aren’t enough hours in the day. But I recently (as in two days ago) dropped one job so that should free up a bunch of time, which will help with the writing and the reconnecting. See? I’m already kicking 2011’s butt!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Piper

     /  December 3, 2010

    Thanks, as always, for sharing. I really liked this post :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

