#reverb10: beautifully different

{For the month of December I’m participating in #reverb10 – an online initiative that prompts people to reflect on the past year and look towards the new one.}

December 8 – Beautifully Different. Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful. (Author: Karen Walrond)

I fear this prompt might be an effort to make people toot their own horns. I’ve said it before and it bears repeating, it ain’t bragging if you can back it up. (I stole that from my mom.)

I think what makes me different is my ability to show appreciation. Not everyone seems to have this ability. I rarely miss an opportunity to tell someone how grateful I am for them or something they’ve done. I think this stems from the fact that I’m a very sentimental person. My biggest fear in life is to loose a loved one and believe they didn’t know how much they meant to me or how much I appreciated them.

It’s an easy thing to do, once you’re in the habit. And it’s amazing how a simple line like, “Hey, thank you so much – I really appreciate it,” can light someone up.

The other thing that makes me different is that I can squat like a mo-fo in the gym. It’s a hard thing to do and do right, really. This lights up pretty much no one other than myself and my trainer. I owe this ability to my father and the wall sits he used to make me do to strengthen my legs when I was a catcher in my youth. Thanks, pops! I appreciate it. (See how that works?)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

