#reverb10 – I’m a slacker

{For the month of December I’m participating in #reverb10 – an online initiative that prompts people to reflect on the past year and look towards the new one.}

Well, I’m pretty much a slacker. I’ve missed the last eight prompts from the reverb folks. This past week I traveled for business (the first time I’ve ever done that – it was fun, but hectic) and then had a crazy week at work. Coming home in the evenings and ignoring the manfriend and Stella so I could blog just didn’t feel right. And now I feel too far behind to do all eight I’ve missed! Therefore, I’m going to pick the prompt that calls out to me the most and run with that. Then, for next week, I hope to be back on track!

December 15 – 5 Minutes Imagine you will completely lose your memory of 2010 in five minutes. Set an alarm for five minutes and capture the things you most want to remember about 2010. (Author: Patti Digh)

  • Starting the year with a cleanse with the manfriend and then deciding to never do that again while trying to work at the same time.
  • Going to the rodeo in Denver with my parents, my sister and my nephew. The hay and dust drove my sister, my nephew and I through the roof, but we had fun. My nephew was in a great mood and a serious trooper despite an asthma attack and a supremely drippy nose!
  • Went to my friend Aimee’s baby shower where we all had to dress up in 80’s clothes. I rocked that shit! Poor Aimee had feet three sizes larger than normal and I remember thinking, “Poor girl looks miserable, but what a great attitude about it all.” She was just so happy about becoming a momma!
  • Taking my nephew swimming. He made me go down the super slide and it was a gas! I’m so glad he reminded me how fun it is just to let go and enjoy yourself from the perspective of a kiddo.
  • The loss of that tiny family member I’ve mentioned so often the past month. That single event (well, that and my accident) will encapsulate 2010 for me. But in good ways as well. A lot was learned from that experience.
  • Going to the Idaho Vapor Caves with my sister and spending some good time laughing, crying, and bonding. Man, do I love that woman!
  • Our trip to Mexico! Ah, vacation is good.
  • Our first, ill-fated, camping trip.
  • The entrance of a new friend in the backyard – JC.
  • Planting flowers with my mom, the guru. It was very fun to do something hands-on with her. Maybe this will be an annual thing?
  • A wonderful ceremony to commemorate a brief, impactful life in our backyard.
  • Camping with my sister, her manfriend, and my nephew. He’s a good little camper!
  • Adopting our wonderful little creature, Stella!
  • Enjoying the fruits of our great garden thanks to the hard work of the manfriend.
  • Crash, crunch, moan – accident time!
  • Visits from my brother and his wife as well as the manfriend’s mom and her manfriend.
  • The Rockie’s game with my dad. It’s an annual thing (his Father’s Day gift) and it’s always a highlight. Man, I love that guy!
  • Visiting my brother and his family in Colorado Springs. He cooked one of the best steaks I’ve ever had. I can still taste it!
  • Leaving one job I loved for another I’m coming to love.
  • The big 7-5 for my dad! We had a lovely brunch for him and he basked in all the attention, which was nice to see because he usually stays in the background observing.
  • A quiet Thanksgiving at home with some of my favorite people ever.
  • Holiday parties for work and friends

An there we are, pretty much up-to-date on the events of the year. I’ll admit I spent more than five minutes on this. But, what a great prompt! Probably my favorite so far.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    My mother is an encyclopedia of useless information (sorry, ma, but it's true) - no one can beat her at Trivial Pursuit. As I age, I become more like dear old mom everyday. I routinely tell people about resources, recipes, tips, tricks, or websites I've heard about, tried, live by, etc. until one of my clients urged me to start a blog. So here it is! My perpetual ramblings. I hope you find them useful and amusing. If you don't, you can either keep it to yourself or leave me a well constructed critique.

    I'm a former massage therapist, a freelance journalist, and a web information architect and UX designer. I enjoy yoga, the Bar Method, camping, reading, gardening, and spending time with my friends and loved ones. I live in Colorado.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,097 other followers

  • Infrequent tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • I pin!

    Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Archive

  • Tag Cloud

  • Top Posts

