#reverb10 – Avoidance. Um, can I avoid this prompt too?

{For the month of December I’m participating in #reverb10 – an online initiative that prompts people to reflect on the past year and look towards the new one.}

December 20 – Beyond Avoidance. What should you have done this year but didn’t because you were too scared, worried, unsure, busy or otherwise deterred from doing? (Bonus: Will you do it?) (Author: Jake Nickell)

Well, in 2010 I avoided a very important resolution I had made, which was to quit eating sugar.

We all know that sugar is bad for us. But it goes beyond it being about calories or loosing weight. Sugar is a major cause of inflammation in the body and it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to know that inflammation is bad, bad. Sugar also depresses the immune system and generally makes people feel like shit.

Having cut sugar from my diet at one point, I can fully attest to the benefits of doing so. But, damn, if it doesn’t taste good! It’s meant to be that way. Hell, there’s science out there that compares sugar addiction to a heroine addiction. Don’t believe me? Google it. I’m definitely a sugar addict. The minute I’m done with a meal, I’m searching out the sugar. This must stop, I tell you!

Back in the cave man days, sugary things were a rare commodity and they signaled a high calorie food that was consumed in the effort of plumping up. I don’t know about you, but I got some land to live off of on this bod – I don’t need plumping.

As for will I do it? Yes. But (didn’t you see the but coming?) – I will allow an occasional treat so I don’t go insane. And I’ll continue to use honey because I really do believe in it’s good properties. But refined sugar is out, out out!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

