Christmas 2010 – a recap

Well, it’s been a pretty good holiday weekend. What’s keeping it from being a really good weekend? The manfriend’s illness and 100 degree temperature. Yuck, right? It kept him home on Christmas afternoon and evening while I went to my folks to hang out with the crew.

We did things a bit differently this year and opened our presents Christmas Eve, which is when we usually do our big holiday meal. My mom went all out and cooked a killer meal. Thanks, ma! Anyway, we spent Christmas morning at home and then I spent the rest of the day hanging out with my family – playing in the yard with my nephew, drinking Bloody Mary’s, playing Put and Take Jacks, eating Mexican Build-up and drinking way too much Grand Marnier. It was a good, good time. There was lots of laughter, which is always good! Although I did think my father was going to throw a clot if my sister and brother beat my dad and I one more time in Put and Take Jacks. That man hates to loose.

You might have some questions from the previous paragraph, yes? Put and Take Jacks is just too hard to explain in a blog. Unfortunately the couple who used to make the boards retired a few years ago. If I had an entrepreneurial spirit and woodworking skillz I’d start making these and make a killing on Etsy. It’s become the go-to game in my family as most of us have boards, which were given to us as Christmas gifts years ago from my parents.

As for Mexican Build-up, it’s easy and always a hit. You take taco seasoned beef and put that on top of Fritos. Then you add lettuce, tomatoes, cheese, salsa, sour cream, green onions, and black olives. Make sense?

The manfriend and I didn’t have a tree this year – you know, puppy and all. This morning I went to Target and scored a ton of great Christmas stuff for next year. I told the manfriend that I got an artificial tree for next year. His response was, “A TREE!?” Like I’d just suggested we fly to the moon. This is his standard response to about 1/4 of the things that come out of my mouth. Example:

Manfriend: “What route should we take to get to the airport?”
Me: “I guess the highway.”
Manfriend: “THE HIGHWAY!?”

Manfriend: “What are we doing for dinner tonight?”
Me: “I dunno. Wanna order in?”
Manfriend: “ORDER IN!?”

Manfriend: “What are your plans this afternoon?”
Me: “I’m going to get a massage.”
Manfriend: “A MASSAGE!?”

The bottom line is that next year I’m going all out. I’m having a tree, I’m going to decorate the outside of the house, I’m going to see The Nutcracker, I’m going to the Holiday Concert up on Campus, I’m going to do it up! “DO IT UP!?” Yep.

Hope all of you had a wonderful holiday. And now for a happy new year!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Sara

     /  December 27, 2010

    The last part of this post made me laugh. So. Hard.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

