#reverb10 – ordinary joy

{For the month of December I’m participating in #reverb10 – an online initiative that prompts people to reflect on the past year and look towards the new one.}

December 27 – Ordinary Joy: Our most profound joy is often experienced during ordinary moments. What was one of your most joyful ordinary moments this year? (Author: Brené Brown)

I’m not sure if there’s ever anything ordinary about joy, but that’s another topic.

My most joyful moment of Christmas this year would have to be playing Put and Take Jacks with my sister, my brother and my dad. My nephew was alternating between lending a hand to those playing the game (he’s pretty good, actually) and running around like a wild banshee, my mom was cooking dinner and buzzing around us filling up our glasses with Grand Marnier, and we were laughing and having a blast.

For about five games in a row, my dad would be one play away from winning the game and my sister, whose turn was before my dad’s, would either trump him by winning the game first or block his game winning move. The hilarity that came from that was just too much. His mouth would drop open each time, his eyes bulging, while she and my little brother just howled.

I felt kinda bad for my mom in the kitchen slaving away, but I know she’s at her happiest when all her chitlins are home laughing and enjoying themselves. She’s selfless like that.

Writing all this makes me realize that some of the moments when I’ve laughed the hardest in my entire life have been with these people. I’m a lucky girl and glad that some of my most favoritest people in the world are my family members.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. back at ya, Anniebannanie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

