Turn off your T.V.

Contrary to the title of this post, this will not be a rant on how terrible your T.V. and watching it are for you.

The manfriend and I don’t have cable. We can’t even tune in basic channels. We have our reasons. That’s not to say we don’t watch our share of shows, movies, etc. We just do it through Netflix.

However, for the month of February we’ve decided to let the T.V. and Netflix rest. We’re going to read instead. Sounds delicious, right? It was the manfriend’s idea.

Here’s what’s on my agenda:

  1. Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison (shout out to my book club peeps!)
  2. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas (a Christmas gift from my crazy acutonics lady)
  3. The Help by Katheryn Stockett

Seems like a conservative list, but The Count of Monte Cristo is a beast of a book!

We started this last night. I was totally engrossed in The Help and had to force myself to put it down at 11 p.m. The manfriend fell asleep on the couch around 9:30 p.m. while reading some Clive Cussler peice-o. No judgement, no judgement…

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I’ve heard the help is really good. And they just filmed part of it right here in front of the yoga studio I do Yoga at. The author is from Mississippi.
    And you know I’m going to plug my new book for you and manfriend to read right?
    http://www.TheGeneralManagerofYourUniverse.com
    It’s in Ereader format right now. Print coming soon.

    I think it’s great to turn off the TV. I would happily get rid of mine, but hubby wouldn’t dare let that happen. We have differing P.O.V on it. He desperately needs it for sports. I like a little brain mush here and there, but have been without TV before and it was soo nice.
    Enjoy your month. I like that you manfriend thinks like that!

    Reply
  2. Thanks, Jamie! I’ve been curious about your book as well. Congratulations! Turns out the manfriend has been more falling asleep than reading while I’ve been staying up too late reading! Either way, we’re both enjoying it.

    Reply
  3. That is very funny that he’s mostly falling asleep. Well like I always say, your body will tell you what it needs. So he must need more sleep.
    Either that or he’s bored. *snort

    Reply
  4. Lol, I think it’s a combo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

