Well that’s some grommet sh…

Growing up whenever my mom would cook something really spectacular my dad would say, “That’s some real grommet shit, Donna.” Grommet = gourmet and this sentence = his way of saying, “good work!” The manfriend and I regularly refer to things we eat as grommet. It’s a regular shout out to my dad.

This weekend we had some friends over for dinner. On the menu was:

The ribs were unreal. The broccoli simple. The rice to die for. Altogether it was some “grommet shit!”

* When I mentioned to the manfriend that I was going to try the whole black rice thing, he was skeptical. “Man, what’s that stuff gonna cost?” I was worried, too. I thought it would be at least $8 a pound. I found it for $2.99 a pound at Whole Foods in the bulk aisle. We cooked it in a rice cooker and it came out perfect. It’s a bit heartier and chewier than our normal short-grain brown rice and the flavor is slightly sweet. All I know is that I’m going back to stock up! I highly encourage you to give it a shot.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

