5 things I’m loving right now

Last week kicked my ass for various reasons. This past weekend was no better. Sometimes I have to dig deep to find the grace, to find things to be grateful for. But they’re always there. On occasion it just takes a shovel to unearth them.

  1. The manfriend. For so, so many reasons – too many to list here.
  2. Being out in nature and thoughts of camping to come.
  3. Eating a juicy, ripe mango on a cold, gray day.
  4. My sister.
  5. This meal (makes great leftovers for lunch):

Garlicky Shrimp and Spinach Bake

A splash of extra virgin olive oil
2 heaping cups- or so- frozen medium shrimp (not farmed, if possible)
5 cloves garlic, chopped
1 medium onion, diced
Chopped basil or parsley- fresh is best
A splash of balsamic vinegar
Lemon juice
2 cups cooked long grain brown rice (I chose to use black, forbidden rice instead)
2 16-oz bag chopped frozen spinach, thawed, drained
A handful of organic sweet grape tomatoes, halved
A pinch of nutmeg and Old Bay Seasoning, to taste (I add way more of this)
Sea salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste
6 oz. garlic and herb marinated mozzarella, sliced or feta

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  • In a large skillet, heat a little olive oil over medium heat and sauté the onion and garlic.  Then toss in the shrimp; stir for a minute or two just to defrost and firm up the little pink gems. Drizzle a little balsamic vinegar in the pan; shake a moment and remove from heat.
  • In a casserole or baking dish make a layer of brown rice in the bottom of the dish. Scatter all of the chopped spinach over the top. Season the spinach with nutmeg and Old Bay Seasoning; sea salt and pepper. Toss in half of the grape tomatoes. Sprinkle with lemon juice.
  • Layer in half of the mozzarella or feta. Pour the shrimp into the casserole and distribute evenly. Use every last drop of garlicky oil.
  • Add the rest of the tomatoes. Top with the remaining mozzarella or feta.
  • Cover and bake for about 25 to 35 minutes, till heated through.

Serves 3 to 4 depending upon appetites. I’m not sure where this recipe came from originally, but I received it from a friend of mine.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    My mother is an encyclopedia of useless information (sorry, ma, but it's true) - no one can beat her at Trivial Pursuit. As I age, I become more like dear old mom everyday. I routinely tell people about resources, recipes, tips, tricks, or websites I've heard about, tried, live by, etc. until one of my clients urged me to start a blog. So here it is! My perpetual ramblings. I hope you find them useful and amusing. If you don't, you can either keep it to yourself or leave me a well constructed critique.

    I'm a former massage therapist, a freelance journalist, and a web information architect and UX designer. I enjoy yoga, the Bar Method, camping, reading, gardening, and spending time with my friends and loved ones. I live in Colorado.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,099 other followers

  • Infrequent tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • I pin!

    Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Archive

  • Tag Cloud

  • Top Posts

