Daydreaming

My mother used to spend hours “designing” her dream home. She’d pull our her graph ruled paper, her pencils, her eraser, and her fun little templates that had cool things on them like toilets and get to work. I used to love watching her and listening to her plans for my room. I can close my eyes and still see her using that big, pink eraser to clean something up and then sweeping the gray eraser bits to the side. At the time, I didn’t really understand why she passed so many hours doing this. Now I get it – she was daydreaming.

I do it too – daydream about my perfect home. I do it while waiting in line, sitting in traffic, toiling in the garden. I can see every detail. From the terracotta tiled entryway, to the talavera sinks in all of the bathrooms, to the Micheal McHale chandelier hanging over the large rustic dinner table flanked by  long benches, to the sun room filled with my favorite succulents, to the pine beetle kill cabinets in the kitchen, to the sweeping front porch, to the outdoor fireplace, and the large shop and garden for the manfriend. There will be no formal living room (no one ever uses it anyway) and no formal dining room (we prefer a more casual setting). On the walls will be art from people I know – my dad, my sister, co-workers, family friends – things that have a story and meaning. It’ll be eclectic for sure. And don’t you dare knock my daydreaming or you won’t be invited to the house warming party!

What do you daydream about?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Diane

     /  June 22, 2011

    Ooh! Those talavera sinks are gorgeous. Love your style Ms. Annie! I daydream about arbors and hidden gazebos, stone walls and paths, and solariums.

    Reply
  2. Thanks, Diane! I like your ideas, too…the more plants and gardens and loveliness of that sort, the better!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

