The best sauce ever

Yes, ever. I’m not exaggerating. It’s great on fish (especially salmon), it’s divine on a roast beef sandwich, it’s killer as the glue that holds chicken salad together, and it’s the best dipping sauce for artichokes that has ever been made.

This is a recipe that my mom’s been making for years. I’ve probably consumed gallons of this in my life. I’ve been known to eat it straight-up off a spoon. I’ve never, I mean never, been able to make this sauce as well as my mom. And now that I don’t eat dairy and have to make substitutions (see below*), it’s definitely not as good as hers. But it’s still pretty spectacular.

Creamy Dill Sauce

In a bowl combine the following:

  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 Tbs. lemon juice (I always use more, but I’m a lemon fiend.)
  • 1/2 tsp.dill (dried is best – crush it in your palm a bit to reawaken it. Again, I always end up using more.)
  • 1/4 tsp. tarragon (same notes apply as to dill.)
  • 2 Tbs. parsley (and again, same note apply as to dill.)
  • Garlic powder to taste
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Whisk all of this together and then eat the whole bowl with a spoon. I kid, I kid. Or do I?

*Since we don’t eat dairy, I sub in plain coconut yogurt for sour cream (my mom just gagged reading that) and we prefer Vegeniase (good for the vegans out there) to regular mayonnaise.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Ma

     /  June 28, 2011

    I didn’t gag. I spewed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

