Road Trip – Part I

Well, we’re back. And so happy to be home! But it was a great trip!

We headed out early Sunday morning (aka the ass crack of dawn) in attempts to miss traffic. It was so early, we hardly saw other cars on the road. And with an average speed of 75 mph we got to the sand dunes nice and early. And man, what a place! It’s absolutely spectacular! We were totally enthralled and thoroughly enjoyed our two days there.

Once we set up camp (in an actual campground because the road into the back country, Medano Pass, had been washed out during a heavy rain), we headed out into the dunes. I would not recommend heading into the dunes at 1 p.m. like we did. I was crispy in about 30 minutes. Lesson learned.

Stella thought the sand dunes were the greatest thing ever. For every mile we logged, she logged two with all of her running here and there, up and down, and all around!

Our first day on the dunes, Stella and the manfriend decided to run up one of the dunes…

And then down the dunes…

Notice how the manfriend cuts the the side to slow himself a bit? Not Stella. She came down that dune like greased lightening. She was so low to the ground she was skimming it. But the time I looked up from taking this shot (we have a slow camera) she was feet from me. She barreled down on me so fast I couldn’t move out the the way. She swerved about a foot away from me to avoid running me right over. The look on her face was so priceless that I couldn’t help but just laugh at her and her happiness.

Then a storm rolled in and we headed back to camp to partake in one of my favorite camping activities – napping with the sound of rain on the tent.

The next day was more of the same – trips to a from the dunes and lounging around camp. Once the sun set and the night was dark, we headed out on to the dunes. It had rained, as it seems to daily, so the dunes were a bit damp. There was a cool breeze blowing and the night sky was clear. We sat out there taking in the stars for a good hour. I haven’t seen that many stars since my last trip to Lake Powell, which was a good 20 years ago!

The following morning we got up bright and early to hit the dunes before breakfast. It was my favorite excursion out there because of all of the tracks from the night creatures! You could see what creatures hopped, what creatures had a tail to drag, what creatures were of the squiggle variety (see below), and what creatures had hooves. It’s busy out there at night!

During the spring, there’s a wide, shallow, fast-moving stream that cuts through the dunes as evidenced by the muddy path it leaves the rest of the summer.

One thing’s for certain, we’ll be back in the spring to see this:

Become a flowing river!

And then it was time to pack up, hit the road and make for Pagosa Springs. But before I tell you about that part of the trip (in another post), I’ll leave you with some more of my favorite shots of the sand dunes leg.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Theresa

     /  September 6, 2011

    Great pics! Lourdes was looking at the pics with me and said, “Mommy, big sandbox!” It is quite the sandbox . . . I remember going there when I lived in CO. AMAZING place!

    Reply
    • What a cutie! I was totally amazed by it. It’s just so cool! Here’s a thought…bring the kids out for a camping trip at the Sand Dunes and I’ll come :)

      Reply
  2. kbaymarine

     /  June 26, 2013

    Great photos. Very talented.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

