5 things I’m loving right now…

I had the house to myself last week as the manfriend was visiting family in Vermont. We hit up NYC together and then I headed home while he headed to VT. It was nice to have the house to myself, I will admit. And it was nice to have the opportunity to miss the manfriend. We were so excited to see each other by the time I picked him up that is was exhilarating! Time to myself, picking up the manfriend, and then a lazy day together on Sunday made for a nice weekend. Here’s some of my favorite moments…

  1. Outfits comprised of this (in gray and orange) with these (in black).
  2. A lovely dinner at The Dickins Tavern in Longmont with a friend so good she’s like another sister. If you ever go, get the polenta. It’s sublime.
  3. A lovely stroll, just Stella and I, around some ponds with Longs Peak and fall colors to gaze at.
  4. A great dinner with my parents. We looked at old photos from my dad as a boy and his side of the family. I love the stories that always come from moments like that.
  5. Spending Sunday lazing around with the manfriend. We napped, snuggled, did things I won’t detail on here, and made a killer pot roast (see recipe below)

Pot Roast

(From an email from mom. She’s cute.)

3 – 4 lb. chuck roast (you will have leftovers)

potatoes, cut in half
onions, thickly sliced
celery, whole stalks
carrots, in big chunks
Beef broth (I use Knorr beef boullion cubes)
Brown the meat in whatever vessel you will be using.  Brown it WELL!  The browning add a lot of flavor.  Since this smokes up the kitchen, I take the pot and all outside to turn the meat over.  :)
Add prepared broth to cover the meat half way up.
Add onions.
Add some red wine – a cup or so.
Cover, and simmer at 300 for hours and hours and hours.  Minimum of 4 hours.  The more the merrier.  You need to check that the broth doesn’t evaporate.  I add more when I put the vegs in.
Add the veggies about 1 hour before you want to eat. If the pot doesn’t have enough room, take the meat out and put in another pot with some broth and cover. Cook until the veggies are done but not mushy.  Hate mushy.
Remove the meat and veggies, and thicken the broth/gravey.  Season to taste.
Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

