The power of music

I’m not hugely into music. I know some people who just can’t live without it. These folks are always seeking out new artists and attending concerts and live shows. Not me. Dunno why. But, I can’t deny the power that music holds.

This past weekend I ran all my errands while listening to music on my phone. I can connect my phone to my stereo and listen to music I’ve downloaded, but I rarely do. I generally just turn on the radio and channel surf happy to hit upon a favorite tune here and there but mostly resigned to listening to stuff I could care less about. Occasionally, something new will come on that sparks my interest, but not often.

Anyway, I listened to old favorites all weekend long. A run with Ben Harper reminded me of a weekend about 13 years ago when two boys I hardly knew, but good friends of my sister’s, took me under their wings and invited me up to Steamboat for the weekend. One was heartbroken over my sister and I, myself, was heartbroken over a recent break-up. The other boy entertained us with his guitar and growing voice. Ben Harper was on repeat to and from our adventure. We ate good food, drank good wine, and soaked in the hot tub from sun-up to sun-down commenting the entire time that some day we’d be able to say we knew the boy with the guitar when. He now fronts a very popular band in Europe.

Another run of solid country, some of my old faves, reminded me just how much I love that genre. I was one of the first of my group of friends to start listening to country in high school. Man, did I get shit for that! I even had a boy tell me it was my only (ha) flaw. He later became a fan of country himself. I converted them all by the end of senior year. I was reminded of trips to The Stampede to line dance. We sure had some fun!

The manfriend loves classic rock. Forever more AC/DC will remind me of him and how he jumps at the remote to turn the sound up HIGH when ever Thunderstruck comes on.

One song in particular reminded me of the boy who started my obsession with men in cowboy boots. When he told me he’d bought cowboy boots I was like, “Um, what? Why would you do a weird thing like that?” The first time he showed up at my house in jeans, a white T-shirt and those boots I was hooked. I’m a complete sucker for that look. That song, and that boy, are good memories for me.

Bottom line? I’m plugging that phone in more often! Perhaps music and I need to start a love affair.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I love this post, Annie. Thanks for making me smile today.

    Reply
  2. Jenny

     /  November 30, 2011

    Just read this, I think I know both the boy and the music to which you refer :) This morning I was actually talking about how we went to the Grizzly Rose in High School. Did it also remind you of wanting a dodge ram?

    Reply
  3. Oh, I’m sure you know exactly who I’m talking about :) I remember one particular night at the Rose when Lucas Mallory danced the pretzel with me until I was so dizzy I thought I might vomit! And then Tom taught me the finer points of what the left lane is for on the way home! I believe we capped off that evening with some sorted game in your basement. “Would You Rather?” or something like that. And yes, all of this did remind me of my Dodge Ram obsession! Too funny :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

