#Reverb11 – Resolve

{For the month of December a fellow blogger, Melanie, and I are leading  #reverb11 – an online initiative that prompts people to reflect on the past year and look towards the new one.}

December 1. Resolve: What resolution did you make for 2011 that you didn’t follow through on? What resolution did you follow through on?

Well, this is an easy one. I resolved to quit eating sugar. HA! Ha, ha, ha. It’s like crack, people. Crack, I tell you. You know, some say not to cut it out entirely but to eat it in moderation. I find that if I try to eat it in moderation, soon I’m eating it every day. Twice a day. But if I do cut it out and clear it out of my system then it becomes easier to resist. But, and you knew there was a but right? But, inevitably, I will be somewhere or at some social event and think, “Well she went to all that trouble to make that pie. I can have just a slice, right?” And then I’m sucked into the vortex of hell again. The real issue is this – I have a serious will power issue combined with a sweet tooth. Both of these things I can thank my dad for. My little brother is the same way. If it’s there, we’re going to eat it. So, I try not to have it around – not in my office, not in my house. The thing is, I’m not always in my office or my house. Sigh.

The one resolution I did make and keep was to visit my little brother and his wife in Tennessee. I don’t get to see that kid nearly enough. Not even close. He’s one of my favorite peeps ever, which is amazing because he mostly drives me nuts, but I love his guts. If it were up to me, he and Nicki would live in the same neighborhood and we’d hang all the time. Same with my little sister, her son, and my parents. But it’s just not that way. So, from here on out, or at least until he retires from the Army and they move back to CO, I plan on visiting them once a year. Every year. Hope they can take it!

If you would like to join in #Reverb11, please click here for more details.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I love this prompt. Love it! I’m taking prompts from various sources and I love the list you and Melanie created. I’ll definitely be using some of them throughout the month.

    Also: I’m with you when it comes to sugar. LORD am I. Once I get it out of my system for a while I’m all Sugar Who? It’s such a powerful feeling that you’d think it could withstand some freakin’ Skittles. But nooo.

    Reply
  2. Hi Kim! Glad you liked this prompt! I’ll put you down as a participant knowing that you’ll be using some of our prompts.

    Skittles! I LOVE Skittles. Sugar is powerful, evil shizz. Glad to know I’m not the only one fighting this battle.

    Reply
  3. Thanks for stopping by, Kim! Yes, I am like Annie where I have to stop all sugar or I have zero will power.

    Reply
  4. There’s got to be a support group or something, right?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

