#Reverb11 – Give

{For the month of December a fellow blogger, Melanie, and I are leading  #reverb11 – an online initiative that prompts people to reflect on the past year and look towards the new one.}

December 10. Give: Please tell us more about the best gift given to you this last year. Or perhaps you would like to tell us about one you gave.

Last year I gave myself a gift.  I’ve never once regretted that purchase. And I wear that sucker at least 50 percent of the time. The other 50 percent of the time, I’m wearing a giant silver ring the shape of a disc. I call it my legal brass knuckle. This year, I haven’t really received anything terribly spectacular. That’s not to say that I didn’t receive gifts that weren’t great or very appreciated or that aren’t used all the dang time. But for the purposes of this post, I’m going to tell you about a gift I’m going to give. Well, did give. Today, actually.

I love to give gifts that really let the recipient know that I pay attention, that I know who they are. And I especially love to give experiences as gifts because experiences create memories and memories are, in my opinion, the greatest things we have.

Over the years I’ve given the gift of several experiences to my mom. One year it was tickets for her and my dad to see Gallagher perform. Yes, the comedian who smashes shit on stage. My mom had a blast. Then I took her to see Riverdance one year. My sister thought I was insane to buy those tickets, but my mom and I loved it! Last night I took my mom to see Mannheim Steamroller perform holiday music.

For YEARS my mom has blasted their music while we decorated the Christmas tree. She loves Christmas music. So when I saw they were coming to Denver for one night, ONE night, I knew I had to get tickets. And I’m so glad I did. She was psyched (I kept the secret right up until I picked her up). The music was amazing.  And we made another wonderful memory to cherish.

So, that’s why this post is rolling out late! I certainly couldn’t blog about this yesterday considering the fact that my mom is my most faithful reader. I would have spoiled the surprise!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Your most faithful reader. Your most faithful fan.
    Last night was splendid! You know me so well – and that is priceless. The jumbotron was obnoxious, but the music was awesome. Thank you so much. Love your guts!

    Reply
  2. And let us not forget the dirty Martinis and Key Lime Pie!

    Reply
  3. It was a great night, for sure! I’m so glad you enjoyed it, Captain!

    Reply
  4. awesome! I love gifts that are more about the experience than the stuff. Bravo, ladies.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

