#Reverb11 – Converse

{For the month of December a fellow blogger, Melanie, and I are leading  #reverb11 – an online initiative that prompts people to reflect on the past year and look towards the new one.}

December 19. Converse: Name a deceased person whom you’d like to share a meal with and why. What kinds of things would you talk about? What would you eat?

I never met my paternal grandfather. He died of lung cancer a few months after I was born. I know that his name was Harry Clifford Brokaw Jr. and that he went by Cliff I know that he worked for IBM when computers were the size of rooms. I know that he took the train into NYC everyday from Port Washington, NY to work. I know that he was kind of a little guy – not very tall and pretty darned skinny! I know that my dad’s super great skin comes from him and a trait he inherited from his own dad, Harry. Harry, incidentally, has ship models he built in the Smithsonian and published a book in 1918 titled, “Putnam’s Automobile Handbook: The Care and Management of the Modern Motor car.”

But I don’t really know much more than that, but I would like to. I’ve found, through many an experience, that spending time with a person’s parents can be a gateway to understanding that person better. I know that spending time with Grandpa Cliff would be eye-opening for sure.

I would ask him questions about his own upbringing. I would ask him what his favorite past-time was. I would ask him what he loved about my grandmother most. I would ask him about his job at IBM. I would ask him why he never went to one of my dad’s games when he was a kid. Fluff and tough, we would hit it all.

I have no idea what we would eat as I have no idea what his favorite foods were, but I”m guessing he was a meat and potatoes kind of guy. And he couldn’t have been too picky because my Grandma was a pretty terrible cook. Well, except for her orange holiday cookies.

Who would you dine with if you could?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

