#Reverb11 – Hope

{For the month of December a fellow blogger, Melanie, and I are leading  #reverb11 – an online initiative that prompts people to reflect on the past year and look towards the new one.}

December 28. Hope: What are you most looking forward to about 2012?

Hands down, the birth of my little brother’s son. This will be Logan and his wife, Nicki’s, first child. This will also be my 11th niece/nephew. Crazy, huh?

When Logan called to tell me that Nicki was pregnant I was initially shocked and then just so, so, so excited for them. I love being an aunt and I love seeing my siblings as parents. The single most defining moment in my relationship with my sister, the moment that started us down the path of a wonderful friendship that had eluded us for years, was the birth of her son. I was beyond flabbergasted when she asked me to attend the birth and it was an event I’ll never forget. I was there the day her world changed forever and it blew me away. And seeing the positive changes in her as a parent has made my relationship with her richer. I know it will be the same for my relationship with Logan. I’m just so excited to see him as a dad.

Now, it does freak me out that my little brother, a person I remember holding at an hour old, is about to become a dad. WHAT?! And I’ve already warned his wife that Logan sees animals and children as put on this planet for his own amusement. Seriously, he gets an immense amount of joy out of harassing kids and animals. Not in a mean way, of course. More in a, “This is the pecking order of life, now dance for me, monkey” kind of way. That kid’s gonna have a thick skin, I’ll tell you what!

I’m going to head out to visit the little dude in late March, early April and I can’t wait!

What are you looking forward to for 2012?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

