The olden days

Recently my dad and I poured over some old photos from his youth. I love old photos like this. It’s like a glimpse back and a glimpse ahead all at the same time.

What I mean by that is that I get chance to see people I never had a chance to meet, a time that I never lived in, and a period of my dad’s life that I’ve only heard bits about. At the same time, I can see other family members in those photos – my little brother in the face of our grandfather, my nephew in the face of my dad – and it gives me a look at present day as well as what they will look like in the future as they age. Pretty neat, huh?

My great-grandfather, Harry, at 49 years old.

My grandfather, Cliff, at 29 years-old.

My grandmother, Marjorie, at 22 years-old.

My dad at a year old with his pops.

My pop at 15 months in a graham cracker ad.

My dad at 2 years old with his mom. Nice dress on my g-ma, huh? I think my dad's like, "Look lady. I beg you. Please take me out of this ridiculous outfit already!"

My dad at 3 years-old.

My dad at 15 with his brothers Peter, 11 years-old, and Paul, 11 weeks old.

My dad's senior picture. So handsome!

My dad at 21 years-old, headed to the Navy.

Gosh, I sure love that guy! I could look at hundreds of old pictures like this if we had them. So precious, pictures.

Oh, and now I totally know where I got my nose from – my grandfather and my dad without a doubt!

See what I mean?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Nicki

     /  January 3, 2012

    Yes-the nose, it’s a pretty strong Brokaw trait! I am secretly hoping Landon will have blonde hair!! Perhaps I have a chance with your Dad being blonde!

    Reply
  2. Well, Logan and I both started out BLONDE. I mean, like white-blonde and you see what happened! My natural color is the same as Logan’s…I just, ahem, enhance it :)

    Reply
  3. Nicki

     /  January 4, 2012

    I had no idea your hair was as dark as his naturally! Good job enhancing-it’s very natural! I however, had jet black hair as a baby and looked Chinese….it will be a toss up for Landon I am sure! Let’s just hope he isn’t born bald…however with hairy Logan I doubt that is possible =).

    Reply
  4. Thanks! My hairstylist is pretty darned good! Jet black, huh? Crazy! He might be bald as a baby, but you just wait until puberty hits! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

