There’s a moral to this diatribe…

This might be one of those posts Dooce warns bloggers against. You know, the posts that have the potential to harm a familial relationship? Well, I’m banking on shared experience getting me through this one…here goes…

My sister-in-law and brother gave us this candle for Christmas. (Love you, guys, BTW.) I love the scent it gives off, but the manfriend wants it in the trash.

See, it’s one of those newfangled (I sound like my grandfather) candles with the funky wick that’s supposed to mimic the sound of a fire. Problem is that it sounds nothing like a fire. It’s too rhythmic to be natural. Instead it sounds like someone standing there flicking water at a lit candle over and over and over and over and over and over and over again. (Love you, guys, BTW.)

Last night I was at a friend’s house and they have a similar candle. At some point her husband says, “That candle makes the most annoying sound ever!” I said, “You should have blown it out!” “I didn’t know what it was,” he replies. “I thought maybe you were rhythmically clucking or something.” Huh?

So I relay this story to the manfriend so he knows he has a fellow-candle-hater-in-arms. This started an in-depth conversation about the feeling the candle is supposed to evoke. I explain the whole fire sound theory, to which he replies, incredulously, “Candles are supposed to be quiet. If I want the sound of a fucking fire, I’ll light something on fire! Jesus Christ.” (Love you, guys, BTW.)

Moral of the story: if you think a candle that sounds like a fire is a good idea, it’s not. Apparently it drives men insane. (Love you, guys, BTW.)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Nicki

     /  January 18, 2012

    For what it’s worth Logan completely agrees too lol! I don’t mind it :)

    Reply
  2. Piper

     /  January 18, 2012

    Laughed so hard i had tears!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

