The cuteness of my mom

Do you want to know how cute my mom is? Well, that’s actually a rhetorical question. I don’t care if you want to or not. I’m telling you no matter what.

When I was a senior in high school I became addicted to Day of Our Lives. I would get home from school every day and turn it on while I did some homework. It was on from 3-4 (I think). Often I would have to leave for work around 3:30. So my mom would sit there and watch the rest of the show for me and take notes. TAKE NOTES, people! (Things like the internet and DVR didn’t exist back then. Oh the simpler times…)

I would come home from work, sit down to finish my homework over a bowl of Ramen and read over her notes. The funniest thing about all of this is that the show never changed that much from day to day. It’s not like I had the potential to miss something utterly earth shattering if I missed a day, but she did it anyway. Is that cute or what?

It just dawned on me…perhaps she used note taking as her cover-up for her own Days of Our Lives addiction. Sneaky mom!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Holy Smackerdoodles! I had forgotten that. Thing was all you had to do was watch Friday and Monday – you could skip everything from T-Th. When I worked for CBS I got hooked on their soaps (every office had a TV in it). I had to wean myself off of them later. So, no, I did this for YOU! Glowworm!

    Reply
  2. The other reason my mom’s cute? She says holy smackerdoodles! It’s a valid point you make, but I had to be able to keep up with the locker talk about the previous episode the next day at school! So, I do really appreciate it :)

    Reply
  3. Theresa

     /  February 24, 2012

    You both are just adorable!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    My mother is an encyclopedia of useless information (sorry, ma, but it's true) - no one can beat her at Trivial Pursuit. As I age, I become more like dear old mom everyday. I routinely tell people about resources, recipes, tips, tricks, or websites I've heard about, tried, live by, etc. until one of my clients urged me to start a blog. So here it is! My perpetual ramblings. I hope you find them useful and amusing. If you don't, you can either keep it to yourself or leave me a well constructed critique.

    I'm a former massage therapist, a freelance journalist, and a web information architect and UX designer. I enjoy yoga, the Bar Method, camping, reading, gardening, and spending time with my friends and loved ones. I live in Colorado.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,096 other followers

  • Infrequent tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • I pin!

    Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Archive

  • Tag Cloud

  • Top Posts

