Garden Progress

The manfriend has made a ton of progress on the garden expansion this year and by next summer the garden should be at its max size. I can’t even begin to estimate the hours, reaching into the hundreds by now I would guess, that he’s put into that garden. The addition of a roto rooter to his arsenal this year has definitely helped to speed things along. I took a walk down memory lane the other night looking at how far things have come.

The garden area when we moved in. Just grass, grass, grass everywhere. The listing flyer said, “Park like yard,” which was a pretty good description and what really drew us to the house in the first place.

Our first summer gardening (2010) and the manfriend created four beds but only planted three. He planted 30 tomato plants that year along with  zucchini, cucumbers, pumpkins, squash, cabbage, bell peppers, and some herbs planted elsewhere in the yard. 2010 yielded more tomatoes than I ever imagined coming out of our yard, but less overall usable product than I thought.

2011 brought three more beds as well as a wall of raspberries along the fence. The manfriend planted almost 70 tomato plants! He started EVERYTHING he grew that year from seed, which was pretty cool to watch. He even created his own hybrid tomatoes by splicing together one type of tomato for it’s roots with another type because of its fruit. This produced AMAZING tomatoes with great flavor. Please click here to see what he grew last year.

And here is the garden this year! The maple tree is gone (poor guy was sick and dying) and so four more beds will be going in. It’s unlikely all of those beds will be completed and utilized this year, but hopefully this gives a sense of the final size for the garden. This year he’ll be planting shelled peas, snap peas and snow peas (great rotational crops that bring nutrients back to the soil), tomatoes (55 plants this year), broccoli, spinach, mixed greens, kale, carrots, onions, zucchini, romaine, shallots, raspberries, herbs, and heavens only knows what else – I’ve lost track. Again, everything is being planted from seed. The plan for the fall is to tear down that crappy shed and build a new one elsewhere in the yard. In its place will either be a cold frame, which is like a below ground greenhouse, or another couple planting beds.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Kazminekaz

     /  June 2, 2012

    My father sticks out his tongue before he takes a bite of food. (it annoys the heck out of me- I always ask him is the food that good for u to look like a dog while u eat? SN: I know that’s cruel!) I wanted to know if there was a medical issue related to this. He has diabetes and it scares me that it might be related to that.

    Reply
  2. Hi there! I’m not sure if it’s related to a medical issue – I think it’s just the way some people eat!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    My mother is an encyclopedia of useless information (sorry, ma, but it's true) - no one can beat her at Trivial Pursuit. As I age, I become more like dear old mom everyday. I routinely tell people about resources, recipes, tips, tricks, or websites I've heard about, tried, live by, etc. until one of my clients urged me to start a blog. So here it is! My perpetual ramblings. I hope you find them useful and amusing. If you don't, you can either keep it to yourself or leave me a well constructed critique.

    I'm a former massage therapist, a freelance journalist, and a web information architect and UX designer. I enjoy yoga, the Bar Method, camping, reading, gardening, and spending time with my friends and loved ones. I live in Colorado.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,097 other followers

  • Infrequent tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • I pin!

    Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Archive

  • Tag Cloud

  • Top Posts

