Relationship Baggage

I’ve been thinking about baggage lately. No, not the kind you take on vacation, although a vacation does sound sublime. I’m talking about the kind of baggage we tend to pick up along the road of life.

I feel like people worry too much about baggage – worry that they need to do something to release it. I think it’s simpler than that.

See, my relationship with the ex-manfriend comes with only good baggage. Can there be such a thing? I think so. When you have a good, healthy, happy relationship where both people grow and learn great things about themselves then the outcome and resulting baggage can surely be a good thing, right? My next relationship will only benefit from what I picked up along the way with the ex-manfriend.

Now, the relationship before the ex-manfriend was not a good one. It definitely damaged me. But what it did teach me is what I will and won’t put up with and what I do want in the long run – things that contributed to the good relationship I had subsequently. I could have dwelt on the crappiness of that relationship and let it taint what followed, but that would have been missing the point. I would have been giving that relationship and that man too much power over the rest of my life.

Ultimately I think it comes down to what we do with the baggage we carry whether good or bad. You can set down that bag at the next destination, open it up, and continue to use the tools inside as you always have done and get the same result time and again. Or you can open it and take out the tools you do want, shine them, sharpen them, hone them, and make them work in new and better ways for you to get the result you’re looking for.

Anyway, that’s just how I see it all. Baggage, no matter where it comes from or what’s inside, is something we all have. It’s up to us to decide what to do with it.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

