Time for me

My birthday always feels like the start of the holidays in my world and I find myself looking forward to Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Years as soon as my birthday passes.

This year I look forward to all of that with some trepidation. It’s been a long time since I’ve been single during the holidays. I mean, I have plenty of family around, which I’m grateful for, but it’s still not the same somehow.

Take Thanksgiving, for instance. My mom gave me a heads-up the other day that it’s looking like she, my dad, and I for turkey day. Usually there’s anywhere from seven to 22 of us for that holiday depending on who’s hosting. She told me that if I got a better offer, I should take it. I suppose that’s what I’ll do if it comes down the that, but I kinda hate to leave my parents on their own.

And then Christmas. Lately our Christmas holiday has changed and we don’t come together as a family until later in the afternoon, which gave the ex-manfriend and I time to make a nice breakfast, open presents, and just relax. I was telling a friend the other day that it bums me out to think of waking in my little place alone on Christmas morning, left to my own devices until it’s family time. And then he made a really good point. Somewhere down the road, my Christmas mornings will be an early, hectic affair full of kids, impatience, and excitement. As much as I look forward to that, there will likely be moments when I look back on my solitary Christmas morning with longing.

The bottom line is that there will come a time in my life where I’ll offer up a limb to have some peace, quiet and alone time. I’d better revel in it now, right? I have to remind myself of that now and then – enjoy the quiet, the space, the alone-time now because it won’t always be this way.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Ma

     /  October 9, 2012

    Your parents will be just fine on their own – a nice change from the normal bedlam. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

