#Reverb12 – Relationship

{Just as I have for the past two years, for the month of December I’m participating in #reverb12 – an online initiative that prompts people to reflect on the past year and look towards the new one. I may not follow every prompt found here or here but will, rather, pick the ones that seem most interesting to me.}

Prompt for December 8th:  Relationship: Your most important relationship?

I would have to say the most important relationship I fostered in 2012 had to be with myself.

It was a long time coming – to step back from others and work on the relationship I have with myself. The biggest thing that came from all of this was my break-up with the manfriend. It was the single hardest thing I’ve ever done. It was also one of the most selfish things I’ve ever done. I don’t usually put myself and my needs/wants/desires ahead of anyone else. The irony is that doing so, in this case, will lead to doing one of the most unselfish things a person can do, which is have a child.

The takeaway from working on my relationship with myself and making it the most important one in my life will be life-long. If I don’t have a good relationship with me, how can I have a good relationship with anyone else? Because part of having a good relationship with me means knowing who I am, what I want, what is right for me, and so on. Having a grip on all of that only makes me a better friend, partner, family member for everyone else.

Therefore, continuing to work on my relationship with myself will definitely be something I continue in 2013.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

