#Reverb12 – Favorite Book

{Just as I have for the past two years, for the month of December I’m participating in #reverb12 – an online initiative that prompts people to reflect on the past year and look towards the new one. I may not follow every prompt found here or here but will, rather, pick the ones that seem most interesting to me.}

Prompt for December 9th: Book: What is your favorite book?

Gosh, where do I start? Can I list a few? I’m gonna have to because picking one just isn’t possible. I’ll start from when I was a pup…

The entire Little House on the Prarie series pretty much started my love of books. I still own the set and will for the rest of my life. I’d grab those suckers if the house was burning down, in fact. All my eight-year old self wanted to be was Laura Ingalls.

The Grinch Who Stole Christmas is another fave for sure. I love most Dr. Seuss books and plan on having a full set again some day. But something about that book in general just gets me. I think it’s because I love guys who come across as so strong but are piles of mush inside, just like the Grinch.

The Power of One tops the list as well. Hell, I named a dog after the main character, Peekay, which is Afrikaans for pisshead. Don’t believe me?  Anyway, it’s the book that gave me respect for boxing, which lead to a love of mixed martial arts. It’s a good read.

The Song of Fire and Ice series, which most of you would recognize as Game of Thrones on HBO, is simply sublime it’s so good. Daenerys Targaryen is, hands down, my favorite female literary character. She’s a total, unexpected, badass and the whole series, which I don’t think has been completed yet, is magical.

But if I had to pick one, just one, book it would be Lonesome Dove. It won a Pulitzer, so I can’t be the only one. My heart melts for Augustus McCrae. He’s my favorite male literary character. He might be the reason I love a man in cowboy boots. Yup, pretty sure he’s to blame.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

