I learned to fly

So, I’ve been sick for the past week. Sicker than I’ve been in a very long time. This is what karma does to you when you brag to others about your rock-solid immune system. Jerk.

During this little spell, I sucked down a ton of crazy hippie home-remedies, which really helped a lot (not even being sarcastic there – I’ll share them at some point) and slept. All cozied up in bed this morning I had the most remarkable dream. In it I taught myself how to fly.

I’ve never flown in a dream before. I’ve fallen off of things and felt like I was plummeting to my death, but this was me controlling it.

I realized that if I started skipping with very large steps I could hover and glide in-between steps – sometimes for great distances. It was so exhilarating! And totally within my control. But then I decided to not just propel forward, but to push up hard as well. I rocketed into the sky smoothly, but became really concerned about how high I was and I panicked a bit about getting back down. I simply set my intention to drop and I did – slowly and gracefully, ending in an awesome landing.

It’s so silly, but when I woke up and realized it had all been a dream (it was so real feeling – the wind in my hair, the rush of the ground below me, the joyous feeling of flying), I was so bummed.

As I finished writing all of that right up there, I decided to do some Googling…here’s what I found out from DreamMoods.com:

Flying dreams fall under a category of dreams known as lucid dreams. Lucid dreams occur when you become aware that you are dreaming. Many dreamers describe the ability to fly in their dreams as an exhilarating, joyful, and liberating experience.

If you are flying with ease and are enjoying the scene and landscape below, then it suggests that you are on top of a situation. You have risen above something. It may also mean that you have gained a new and different perspective on things. Flying dreams and the ability to control your flight is representative of your own personal sense of power.

Having difficulties staying in flight indicates a lack of power in controlling your own circumstances. You may be struggling to stay aloft or stay on set course. Things like power lines, trees, or mountains may be obstacles that you encounter in flight. These obstacles symbolize something or someone who is standing in your way in your waking life. You need to identify what or who is trying to prevent you from moving forward. Difficulty flying may also be an indication of a lack of confidence or some hesitation on your part. You need to believe in yourself and not be afraid.

If you are feeling fear when you are flying or that you are flying too high, then it suggests that you are afraid of challenges and of success. Perhaps you are not ready to take the next step.

In reality, we cannot really fly, of course. Thus, such dreams can be representative of things that are beyond your physical limitations. In your mind, you can be anybody and do anything. Another way of interpreting flying dreams is that these dreams symbolize your strong mind and will. You feel undefeatable and that nobody can tell you what you cannot do and accomplish. Such dreams are sure to leave you with a great sense of freedom.

Huh. Sounds like I’ve gained some power and perspective on a few difficult things, but that I need to gain a bit more confidence in my decisions and remove any obstacles that might be lurking.

All I know is that I can’t wait to do it again. Next time I’m going to do my best to fly as high as I possibly can!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I love this dream and the interpretation of it. Sounds spot on. I once told Sara about a dream I had, and (in light of what was going on in my life at the time) she said, “Not very sneaky, subconscious!” Ha ha.

    Reply
  2. Ha! That’s a hilarious response. Yes, this dream was awesome in so many ways :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

