Home Remedies

When I was sick recently I chose to treat my cold (maybe it was the flu?) with home remedies. I’ve had some questions about this, so I thought I would detail what I did. For the record, I had a sore throat that moved into a sinus thing and a cough.

Teas

I drank a pretty steady stream of hot water mixed with honey (a heaping tablespoon), lemon (2 tablespoons), and cinnamon (1/4 teaspoon). There are claims that a mixture of cinnamon and honey is a solid cold cure and those that say that’s a bunch of crap. All I know is that drinking it made me feel better. Placebo effect? Who cares.

Vitamin C Shot

I came across the video below a few weeks before I got sick. Once I could feel the cold coming on, I drank this down as quickly as I could procure the ingredients and make it. I drank this same mixture a few times over the next few days. I can’t say it knocked by cold out flat, but I think it helped me recover faster than other people I know who’ve had something similar. It’s pretty damned potent and requires a bit of fortitude to get down. Just pretend your at a frat party taking shots.

Ear Love

At one point I thought I might be coming down with an ear infection. I now think my ears were just bothering me because of sinus pressure. I mean, even my teeth hurt and one point and I could here the pump of my heart in my ears my head was so stuffy. Nevertheless, I did some stuff to my ears that did help them feel less sore.

I started by applying a hot compress to the outside of my ears for 10 minutes a side. Perhaps it’s needless to say outside because how would I access the inside and still be living? Just being literal here, peeps. I used a heating pad, but I’ve heard a moist towel that’s been microwaved or a sock full of rice that’s been microwaved will do the trick as well.

Then I made a mixture of 1 Tbs olive oil, 1 Tbs apple cider vinegar (the good stuff from Bragg’s) and 3 drops of tea tree oil. I laid on my side and used a dropper to fill my ear with that goop and let it sit for 10 minutes before tilting my head to the other side to let it drain out on a towel.

Cough

I didn’t do much for my cough because it felt productive and under control. In the future (if I ever get sick again, which I’m not planning to do – ever) I’ll whip up some of this stuff. Sounds like it would do the trick!

Eucalyptus Steam

To help relieve some of the pressure in my sinuses and open everything up I did a little eucalyptus steam. Eucalyptus is great for congestion and is very antiseptic.

Basically I brought a pot of water to boil, dropped about 5-8 drops of eucalyptus oil in there, and then took it off the stove. Next I positioned my face over the steam and put a towel over my head to trap the steam around my head and face. I stayed there, inhaling deeply, for 10 minutes.

Golden Milk

Golden milk combines a bunch of my favorite stuff into a tasty drink that also helps the immune system. Ginger, cinnamon, and honey are both known for their effects on the immune system, but I feel like turmeric is under-utilized. I mostly use it because it’s beneficial for inflammation, but it has a whole host of other great benefits.  Here’s what you do:

  • In a pot, combine the following
    • 32 oz of almond milk (or whatever alternative milk you prefer)
    • fresh grated ginger (about 4 tablespoons)
    • fresh grate turmeric (about 4 tablespoons – be aware that grating this will stain the hell out of your hands, but it will fade)
    • 3 cinnamon sticks
    • honey to taste
  • Bring to a boil and then reduce the heat to simmer for 20 minutes
  • Strain the milk and enjoy!

***

I also drank a ton of water, ate a bunch of awesome green veggies and fruit, ate good quality protein, and stayed away from foods I know bother my system. Hey, solid nutrition never did anyone any harm. I also slept and ton and took it easy.

If you’re reading this an not feeling well, I hope some of these remedies help!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. hownottokillyourparents

     /  January 12, 2013
    Reply
  2. Excellent remedy suggestions, but I have to say, that ear thing sounds terrifying. I’m afraid to put stuff in my ear because **what if it doesn’t come out?** (Lifelong phobia!)

    Reply
  3. I wrote a little book which describes a much easier way to nip a cold than the video. My website is http://www.howtostopcolds.com Enjoy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

