When a soldier surprises you

I know you’ve seen them, those videos online of a soldier surprising someone they love by showing up unannounced. Those suckers kill me every time.

My little brother has managed to pull this maneuver on us several times. Once he and I conspired to get him home for Thanksgiving to surprise my parents who thought he wouldn’t make it. When my mom saw him she started sobbing and grabbed him. As she hugged him she said, “Are you AWOL?” Funny lady.

Another time he surprised all of us my showing up to a family ski trip where (once he arrived) six out of seven of my dad’s kids were in attendance. I’ll never forget how excited we all were to see him and how much fun we had that weekend.

But the memory of the first time he ever pulled this off will forever be seared in my memory.

My mom, my sister, and I met up for lunch one random day. For some reason, my mom was taking FOREVER to figure out what she wanted to order. Turns out she was stalling. Meanwhile, Mallory and I were starting to grow impatient when my dad causally sat down on one side of the booth as my little brother, whom we hadn’t seen in months, slid in the other side. This is what happened:

BrokawA_Photo_001

They had planned this for sometime. What we didn’t know at the time was that the entire restaurant staff was in on it and that they were circling our table just waiting for the surprise to go down. My mom told us later that several of them were in tears. Man, I just LOVE moments like this!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Piper

     /  February 8, 2013

    Mallory’s face is totally priceless!!

    Reply
    • She was also pregnant, Piper, so the hormones were RAGING. She quickly dissolved into tears after this picture was taken.

      Reply
  2. Once I wipe this tear from my eye, I’ll tell you how much I enjoyed this. I, too cannot watch these videos without a box of tissues next to me. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  3. This made me smile and cry.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

