Simple is Good

My sister loaned me this book a while back. It’s a book to compliment and dive further into the message from this poem. I’ve been reading bits and pieces of the book here and there. It’s a book best digested a little bit at a time as its message is profound and not something you can just breeze through.

The other night this paragraph hit me really hard:

I want to be able to live for a day, a month, a year – even a life – that wouldn’t make a good story. If I have nothing to tell you when we meet and you ask me what has been happening, I want to be fully content with this. I want to be able to occupy my life right to the corners and for this to be enough.

Isn’t that beautiful?

Whenever people ask me what’s been happening, what I’ve been up to, I always feel this pressure to have something exciting, interesting, or titillating to say. “Not much” or “same old, same old” seems like such a disappointing answer both to deliver and to receive. Well, screw that, I say!

While it’s true that there has been a lot going on in my life lately, I don’t always want to share all of that with people. And I look forward to a time when content and status quo is the norm unless I choose otherwise.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Sean C.

     /  February 26, 2013

    Crikey, could it be summed up any better? Thank you for the affirmation (and another daily reminder). Hugs Annie!

    Reply
  2. Can I get an amen?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

