Who Cares?

625727I’ve met a lot of new people over the past seven months. I’ve made new friends, I’ve dated people and met their friends, I started taking couples dance classes as a single person, and so on. And the biggest lesson I’ve learned in all of that is how nice it feels not to give a crap what people think of you.

Sounds kind of harsh, right? Let me clarify…

This sentiment is not about purposely hurting a person’s feelings or making them angry. It’s not about being insensitive or bitchy. It’s about being who you are and letting the chips fall where they may – to put it simply.

I am who I am. I like who I am. For years I wasted so much energy trying to be a person people would like – trying to look a certain way, act a certain way, to be likable by everyone. Good lord, what a waste of time and energy. Because no matter how hard you try, there are some people who just aren’t going to like you and visa versa. So be it.

I think this realization is, perhaps, one that comes with age. But I also feel like it’s a realization that some never have. We all know those people – the people who seem like they’re trying too hard, who seem uncomfortable in their own skin, who seem like they don’t quite know who they are and how to own their uniqueness. I feel sorry for those people.

Like me, don’t like me. Whatever. It’s really none of my business.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

