Again?

{This post is inspired by a recent post by my friend Iman. I feel like it might be time to come clean on what’s been going on with me lately, but while trying to protect the privacy of those in my life who wish for it to be maintained.}

I must have a sign on my forehead that reads, “Men, if you don’t want to have kids, I’m your gal!”

When the ex-manfriend and I broke up I made a list of all of the qualities I want in my next partner. I thought I’d met someone who fit that, but then realized that wasn’t the case after several months. Then I met someone else recently who definitely meets all of those qualities except…he doesn’t want kids. He’s absolutely amazing and seems like my match in every way. Well, but for the obvious.

We knew early on that a long-term thing wasn’t going to happen because of our different goals, but have decided to spend time together anyway. Why would we do that? I know it seems like a terrible idea to put myself out there to someone knowing it won’t work, but I can’t seem to walk away. He’s too amazing and we’re having too much fun getting to know each other. Or maybe I’m a masochist. Or it could be the fact that he looks like Daniel Craig. Tell me ladies, would you find it easy to walk away from that? Huh?

Anyway, for whatever reason (I’m still figuring it out) he was put in my path right now. What I do know is that there will come a time in my life when I reflect back on him and our time together with nothing but great memories and happiness. He’ll make a great chapter in my memoirs someday.

All that said, I can’t tell you how much this bums me out. I’m ready, people. Ready for my man. Ready for our kids. Ready to be done with this dating bullshit.

Perhaps these men I seem to attract who don’t want kids are a test of my resolve to have them myself. I. Am. Resolved.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Ma

     /  March 22, 2013

    You are a glow worm!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

